Should I risk iBook repair?

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by livingfortoday, May 2, 2005.

1. livingfortoday macrumors 68030

OK, my iBook is doing the same thing I had reported my PowerBook as doing about two weeks ago, only it does it all the time. The screen gets really dark like the contrast is all the way down, but you can still kinda make out the screen.

I'm guessing this is a logicboard failure, and that I need to replace this part. I'm wondering if anybody here has replaced the logicboard on a G3 iBook, and if you consider it excessively hard. I have a lot of experience on desktops, but haven't really tried to take apart the iBook. Is it doable?

2. buryyourbrideau macrumors 65816

buryyourbrideau

ha yes i think it is...however i am not the man to ask how to do it...i have heard of it being done before

3. eva01 macrumors 601

eva01

find out first if your laptop is covered by the logic board repair program

4. amholl macrumors 6502

if u have to pay for it, i would just get a new one.

5. calyxman macrumors 6502a

calyxman

If your machine can still boot but the display goes dim to dark and flickers when you adjust the display, then odds are it's not covered under the logic board program. I took mine into the Apple Store after an employee there told me that I had a logic board failure. A day later I get a call from one of their tech people telling me that it will cost over $200 to repair.

There is a tutorial here on how to replace the logic board on the iBook.

http://www.pbfixit.com/Guide/50.17.0.html

6. Les Kern macrumors 68040

Les Kern

Hear me now and believe me later.
    At my district I wanted to remove a hard drive from one iBook 12" and put it in a second. Two hours later I was no closer to succeeding than I was when I picked up the iBook for the first time. iBooks are INCREDIBLY complicated inside. I'd suggest you NOT attempt it.