Should I sell pismo for a PB G4?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by woolyb, Jan 6, 2007.

1. woolyb macrumors newbie

Jan 6, 2007
    Hello. I'm new to macrumors. I've been ready around on this site and I like the candor and comments floating about.

Currently, I have a working pismo (500 mhz) with 768 M memory and original harddrive. I don't have any problems with it but I would like to have more speed and alittle more "visual real estate" (15 or 17 inch).

I'm looking for opinions from others as to whether or not it would be worth it to sell this and get a PB G4 (1 ghz or better).

2. Reflow macrumors 68000

Mar 30, 2005
    Welcome to the forums. As the prismo was my first laptop when I make the switch. I would try to keep it and get the PB if you can
  3. livingfortoday macrumors 68030

Nov 17, 2004
    The Msp
    The Pismo's nice, but a newer Powerbook would be better. So if you want more speed and more screen space, upgrade.
  4. AppleIntelRock macrumors 65816

Aug 14, 2006
  5. dpaanlka macrumors 601

Nov 16, 2004
    They're both PowerBooks.
  6. woolyb thread starter macrumors newbie

Jan 6, 2007
    I forgot to mention that I'm considering an ibook 1.42 GHz rather than a PB G4.

So would it really be worth the extra money to sell the pismo and get either the ibook or a PB G4?
  7. RedTomato macrumors 68040

Mar 4, 2005
    .. London ..
    I really wouldn't get a PPC laptop now. They're dead-ends, and will become less and less useful in the next few years.

See if you can get a second-hand intel chip macbook - the core duo (i.e. the ones before the core 2 duo) models are getting pretty cheap now, and will go down a lot further if an update is released this week, which may happen.

Check the Apple Refurb store for price guidelines (30%ish off new prices) and reject anything that approaches these prices and isn't from Apple.

xoxo T
  8. SuperCompu2 macrumors 6502a

Jul 23, 2006