Should I try to do an MD and a PhD?

Discussion in 'Community' started by themadchemist, Feb 6, 2004.

1. themadchemist macrumors 68030

themadchemist

Hey guys, I've been in a quandary for quite a while now and I thought I'd ask you, since there seem to be a fair number of PhDs (and MDs, too?) floating around about here. I would just like some advice. I'm going to lay out my situation and I hope some of you who have had experience with this stuff can help advise me.

Ok, so I'm a sophomore in undergrad. I'm taking the MCAT this summer. I've been guaranteed a seat in Northwestern University Medical School, but I'm thinking about applying out to some other schools. I'd like to apply to Harvard, Duke, and Johns Hopkins. I doubt I'll get into any of them, because my grades need some work. My dream school would be Harvard, because they have the best med school in the country and the #2 neuroscience department in the country.

And that brings me to my question. The NIH Medical Scientists Training MD/PhD Program. I've been debating doing both an MD and a PhD for a while and I'd likely only do it through MSTP, because it pays full tuition+$20k stipend. It's a sweet deal.

But how will these degrees play into my life? I'm graduating from college in two years and I'll be 19. So I saved a couple years here and there.

If I just do my MD, then I'll be 23 when I get out of med school. I want to do neurosurgery, so I'll be 28 when I'm done with everything.

If I do an MD/PhD...Let's say I do neuroscience at Harvard (I'm not going to get into the program, or into med school period at harvard, but let's just set up a hypothetical). I spend two years doing the class part of med school. I'm 21. Then, I spend five years earning my PhD. I'm 26. I go back and finish my MD, and I'm 28. I do my residency, I'm at the ripe age of 33, ready to enter the workforce.