Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Demon Hunter

macrumors 68020
Original poster
Mar 30, 2004
I'm totally new to RAID so I appreciate the help. I learned a little from reading previous threads.

I have 3 x 750GB Seagate drives that are just begging for some tinkering. I've heard a lot about RAID, but I have no clue what I'm doing (and that scares me).

What should I do? I can't decide which type I need, if any. I'm mostly concerned about Leopard. Will Time Machine render my mirrored drives useless? What about striping? Concatenated? Should I use my boot drive in the array, or is this a bad idea? What's the difference between striping 2 drives as opposed to 3 drives?

Thanks!

Cromulent

macrumors 604
Oct 2, 2006
The Land of Hope and Glory
Software RAID = Slower and cheaper.
Hardware RAID = Faster and more expensive.

The software option is probably the easiest as there is no need to go out and buy a RAID PCI-E card. But personally if I had just shelled out the cash for some hard drives to put in a RAID array I would go the hardware route.

I believe the software needed to do software RAID arrays is built into Mac OS X, although someone else will need to confirm this for you.

Which raid level are you planning on using? 0? 1? 5? 10? It might make a difference.

Apple Corps

macrumors 68030
Apr 26, 2003
California
What exactly are you trying to accomplish? That is an important question. For performance, hardware RAID solution is the faster. For data backup - the software RAID may meet your needs. Again, it will help if you outline your end goals, applications, file size, etc.

WildPalms

macrumors 6502a
Jan 4, 2006
Honolulu, HI
Software RAID = Slower and cheaper.
Hardware RAID = Faster and more expensive.