Should we use Trim enabler?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by prvt.donut, Dec 28, 2012.

  1. macrumors 6502

    prvt.donut

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    #1
  2. macrumors 65816

    Lil Chillbil

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    Location:
    California
    #2
    I doubt that you would see any noticeable speed boost from using trim if you are already using a ssd
     
  3. macrumors 68000

    MisterKeeks

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2012
    #3
    That isn't what TRIM is. TRIM is basically the maintenance system for SSDs, and if not used when needed, the drive will slow down. So YES, you should use TRIM enabler. However, there are some instances when you shouldn't-
    drives with a sandforce controller don't use it and shouldn't use it.
     
  4. macrumors 65816

    Lil Chillbil

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    Location:
    California
    #4
    damn I guess i'm just that old school :eek:
     
  5. macrumors 68000

    MisterKeeks

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2012
    #5
  6. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Location:
    Vancouver Island
    #6
    Nooo! in your case if you went back a few years (as in 'old school') it would be more like 'pre-school' :D
     
  7. macrumors 65816

    Lil Chillbil

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    Location:
    California
    #7
    oh shut up j :D
     
  8. thread starter macrumors 6502

    prvt.donut

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    #8
    That is interesting that sand force has its own garbage collection going on. It's weird that OWC kinda suggest only their SSD has it, when it should be in all sand force driven SSD.

    So, this means we don't have to worry at all! Woooooo Hoooooo
     
  9. macrumors 68000

    MisterKeeks

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2012
    #9
    Well, unless you have a non-Sandforce SSD.
     
  10. thread starter macrumors 6502

    prvt.donut

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    #10
    I was using the Royal we.:p
     
  11. zackkmac, Dec 28, 2012
    Last edited: Dec 29, 2012

    macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Location:
    Tulsa
    #11
    I don't get it. TRIM is not supported in Leopard. Am I missing something? :confused:
     
  12. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2005
    Location:
    Tacoma, WA USA
    #12
    Can I use Trim Enabler on my Mac Plus with 50MB SCSI drive? ;)
     
  13. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2012
    #13
    If you need a haircut.
     

Share This Page