Show Your Apple TV Setups!

Discussion in 'Picture Gallery' started by The3nd, Mar 21, 2007.

  1. The3nd macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2007
    #1
    Comeon, we know their shipping at least mine have... So lets see the "required" widescreen setup you have!
     
  2. ®îçhå®? macrumors 68000

    ®îçhå®?

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2006
    #2
    The last one got wastelanded because they havent arrived yet. When you get yours post a thread about it. If it isnt here yet, wait
     
  3. Zwhaler macrumors 603

    Zwhaler

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2006
    #3
    Well he kinda said post your widescreen TV setups...

    I am waiting for a new widescreen TV, but although I won't be getting an Apple TV, I would love to show my big TV when I buy it, but it may be awhile.
     
  4. ®îçhå®? macrumors 68000

    ®îçhå®?

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2006
    #4
    He didnt specify TV but what is wrng with all of the other setup threads like the "media centre" ones or the "mac setup". There are plenty of widescreen TVs in those threads
     
  5. Electro Funk macrumors 65816

    Electro Funk

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2005
    Location:
    The Opium Garden
    #5
    If i get one...

    it will be connected to the Sammy HLS7178W ;)
     

    Attached Files:

  6. Doctor Q Administrator

    Doctor Q

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2002
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #6
    I'm not that interested in seeing people's TV screens. What I'd like to see is the cable arrangement on the other side, in particular how the :apple:tv will connect to the collection of components.
     
  7. nickster9224 macrumors 6502a

    nickster9224

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2006
    Location:
    35 Miles From Chicago, Illinois
  8. ®îçhå®? macrumors 68000

    ®îçhå®?

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2006
    #8
    When the postman decides to deliver them
     
  9. jasko macrumors 6502

    jasko

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2006
    #10
    So this thread is more like, show your TV setup..
     
  10. zap2 macrumors 604

    zap2

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Location:
    Washington D.C
    #11
    Well I went and bought one, after canceling my order because of HDTV problem. As soon as I found out it had 480i, went to the local Apple Store and picked on up. The set up here is with it outside of the "case" were it will go, only because I was so eager to start it up, and now its downloading my iTunes from my Mac Mini.


    There not great pictures, but heck its an AppleTV
     

    Attached Files:

  11. jordygreen macrumors 6502

    jordygreen

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2006
    Location:
    London, UK
  12. NintendoFan macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2006
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    #13
    How well does it work with a regular set? Any issues that bother you?
     
  13. sycho macrumors 6502a

    sycho

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2006
    #14
    Ok, that is weird, one picture looks formatted for 4:3, while the other looks like it's anamorphic 16:9...

    Could you do us a favor?:eek:

    Take a picture with your set and apple TV displaying these two pictures:

    http://www.tigerdave.com/images/testpatterns/640x480_overscan.gif

    http://www.tigerdave.com/images/testpatterns/856x480_overscan.gif


    If it supports 4:3 properly, then the first will fill the screen and the second will be letter boxed. If it does not support 4:3 then the first should have side bars and be oval, and the second will fill the screen and be oval.

    If they both fill the screen, well, then Apple has many issues to work out.
     
  14. Doctor Q Administrator

    Doctor Q

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2002
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #15
    Yes, although it is heavier than I expected. I forgot it has that hard drive in there, and was thinking it was going to be like those A/V components that are boxes full of circuitry and empty space.

    The Apple Remote, on the other hand, weighs so little it could probably float in mid-air.
     
  15. EricNau Moderator emeritus

    EricNau

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #16
    So you don't necessarily need a widescreen HD TV, just a TV with component inputs?
     
  16. Luis macrumors 65816

    Luis

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Location:
    Costa Rica
    #17
    Just imagine... a little powerful fan in there and we could see it floating. Well maybe not so little, but imagine it!
     
  17. zap2 macrumors 604

    zap2

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Location:
    Washington D.C
    #18
    From my understanding, and usage, yes you only keep Component cables.



    I'll take those picture tomorrow...I'll set my alarm to get up early for it.
     
  18. sycho macrumors 6502a

    sycho

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2006
    #19
    OK, sweet, thanks man. :)
     
  19. artmonster macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    #20
    Received the AppleTV today. Impressed so far. It looks great on the shelf!

    [​IMG]
     
  20. smueboy macrumors 6502a

    smueboy

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Location:
    Oz
    #21
    Umm... it took me a second, but i think that's it up there next to your tv right? They really are thin. nice. :)
     
  21. skinnylegs macrumors 65816

    skinnylegs

    Joined:
    May 8, 2006
    Location:
    San Diego
    #22
    Here is a picture of my A/V setup and if you look real hard you can see my :apple: TV. :p

    [​IMG]

    Specs:
    40" Samsung LCD
    Yamaha receiver
    Cox digital/HD with PVR
    Xbox 360 with HD-DVD add-on
    :apple: TV

    Note: I was an early adopter in terms of my LCD and it does not have HDMI so my :apple: TV connection is HDMI > DVI adapter and optical audio.
     
  22. zap2 macrumors 604

    zap2

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Location:
    Washington D.C
    #23
    Sry, so far my AppleTV is still downloading things from my Mac, and it has been all day and night. I'll post them as soon as they are on it.
     
  23. Keebler macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    Location:
    Canada
    #24
    zap, what is the model of your TV? i'm asking b/c it doesn't look like a hidef tv right?

    if that's the case, i know my sony has component which is how it's connected to the tv and then connected to the stereo.

    oh my lord. if that's the case, i foresee an 'accidental' buy incident when i go to purchase my mac pro in a few weeks (assuming new ones are coming). the wife might not notice the slippage ;)

    Cheers,
    keebler
     
  24. skinnylegs macrumors 65816

    skinnylegs

    Joined:
    May 8, 2006
    Location:
    San Diego
    #25
    They always do. :p
     

Share This Page