Shuffle and iPod on same computer

Discussion in 'iPod' started by joetronic, May 2, 2005.

  1. joetronic macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Location:
    New Oxford, PA
    #1
    I have a g2 iPod, and am getting 1gig shuffle later this week. they will be using the same computer. Will this cuase any problems, or would the shuffle just been seen and a removable device and I just copy the songs and playlists over. This is a windows xp box (PM is in for repairs)

    Thanks.
     
  2. wPod macrumors 68000

    wPod

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2003
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    #2
    on my PB having an iPod and a shuffle works fine. if you want the iPod to be seen as a removable device youll have to enable disk use (a check box in the shuffle prefs (click the iPod icon in the lower right hand corner of iTunes)) Otherwise you should just click "Autofill" and it will be ready to eject when the shuffle has been updated. This will not interfere in any way with the normal iPod. You can even have them connected at the same time!
     
  3. joetronic thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Location:
    New Oxford, PA
    #3
    thanks

    So I if I enable disk use, I will be able to copy albums over instead of playlists to listen to on the shuffle?

    Aslo, when my PM getts back from the shop, will there be a problem using it on that computer?
     
  4. apple2991 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    #4
    Disk use allows you to copy specifically, exactly what songs you want onto the iPod. Just drag and drop.

    Well, you can't use an iPod with two different computers (normally). If you plug in your iPod to your PowerMac after having it synced with another box, it will prompt you to automatically erase the songs already on there and fill it with whatever songs you have on the PowerMac.
     
  5. joetronic thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Location:
    New Oxford, PA
    #5
    I know thats what the iPod will do, it did that when I moved it to the PC, will it do that with the shuffle?
     
  6. apple2991 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    #6
    I believe so, which includes a reformat. Wish I knew more exact specifics about the Shuffle.
     

Share This Page