shuffle flaws...

Discussion in 'iPod' started by _bnkr612, Mar 16, 2005.

  1. macrumors 6502a

    _bnkr612

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2004
    #1
    So I picked up a 512 shuffle (for the gym) and I was wondering why Apple didn't put some sort of grooves or grip on the slider, it is not easy to turn off the machine.

    It's also sad that I cannot take music from my PB after I have loaded music from my PM. I have to erase the playlist just to get a couple songs added from my PB playlist. That's a lame "anti-theft" Apple move.

    Anyway around this "anti-theft"? I am also considering carving grips on the slider.

    I know a thirdparty will make an adhesive grip for it soon...

    Anyway, I guess the shuffle is O-K for now. It will take some getting used to, if I don't lose it in my pocket first!


    Cheers.
     
  2. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2004
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #2
    Unfortunatly having the shuffle, and all iPod's for that matter, link with a single computer isn't Apple's deal, it's a compromise they had to make to make the RIAA happy, if you could simply transfer music from multiple computer's onto one iPod it would be a very easy way to pirate music, so to make the RIAA happy Apple had to design the iPod to link with one computer.
     
  3. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    #3
    the only flaw I have with mine is that the slider has gone a dirty yellowy color now instead of being nice and white :(
     
  4. macrumors 65816

    joecool85

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2005
    Location:
    Maine
    #4
    can you transfer files from computer to computer via shuffle?
     
  5. macrumors 68040

    Daveway

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Location:
    New Orleans / Lafayette, La
    #5
    I don't see the same quality in the shuffles that i see in past ipods. Quality control is going down the gutter. :(
     
  6. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2005
    #6
    i know someone who bought a shuffle and within a month of having it, the shuffle turned a pale brass yellow color. he reported the problem to apple (there was no strange usage going on, like exposure to some kind of elements not recommended or something like that) and they replaced his shuffle.
     
  7. macrumors 68040

    tdhurst

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #7
    .....

    Geez...you have to make compromises somewhere...we all knew the shuffles were going to much less "iPod" than the previous editions.
     
  8. macrumors 68040

    Daveway

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Location:
    New Orleans / Lafayette, La
    #8
    I've returned 2 shuffles because of the buttons and everyone shuffle I've gone through has a crooked usb plug. The cap can only go on correctly one way.
     
  9. macrumors 6502a

    rtdgoldfish

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL
    #9
    My Shuffle has a nice gray color to it since I read a newspaper and then touched the Shuffle before washing the ink of my hands. Anyone know of a good way to clean a Shuffle??
     
  10. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2005
    #10
    iKlean wipes would probably work well. a soft, damp cloth would probably work about the same.

    edit: iKlear, rather. URL: http://iklear.klearscreen.com
     
  11. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    _bnkr612

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2004
    #11
    I don't want to transfer songs (third party apps for that), I just want to add three songs from my PB to the shuff.

    The RIAA have nothing better to do.
     
  12. macrumors 603

    quagmire

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2004
  13. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2002
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #13
    Yes but what if you transferred three songs from your friend's computer that you did not own?

    This has been with iPods since the dawn of iPods, this is nothing new.
     
  14. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    #14
    I have no trouble adding songs to our 15 GB iPod from our computers. It is set up so that it doesn't sync with any of the computers. We just plug it in to whichever computer we want, it appears in iTunes, we drag our songs onto it, and that's that.
     
  15. Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #15
    So you have a different set of music on your PB than on your PM? Why, just out of curiousity? I guess you can always just copy those three songs from computer to computer, can't you? :eek:
     
  16. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    _bnkr612

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2004
    #16
    I KNOW you cannot share music from iPods. BUT, you can add them from one another computer.

    I do usually have the same playlist. With my 20GB I can take the song and drag it into my iPod from another computer. If my friend has three songs I want from his computer, I can take them with my 20GB, but if I wanted to add them to my iSf. I would have to wipe out my pre-existing music.

    Understand what I am talking about? You should just be able add like the HD iPods.

    Now, if I want to make it harder, I would just burn a CD (with the three songs that I want) from a friend or my PB. :)

    Basically, it's an annoying flaw on the iSf.
     

Share This Page