Shuffle just died - computer can't see it

Discussion in 'iPod' started by livingfortoday, Jun 15, 2005.

  1. livingfortoday macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2004
    Location:
    The Msp
    #1
    I had my Shuffle plugged into my Windows box the other night overnight, and when I woke up, I found that the computer no longer recognized it when I plugged it in. I tried plugging it into my Powerbook, and same story, it won't see it.

    The shuffle won't play anymore, and when I click "play" it blinks the green and orange lights on the front a few times. It will charge in the USB ports of the computers, but I just can't get it to play or get the computers to recognize it.

    Any suggestions? I've seen a thread on here where someone had similar problems, but they never got the issue resolved. Does anybody know how to fix this? Or is my shuffle a lost cause?
     
  2. jemeinc macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2004
    Location:
    South Jersey
    #2
    Same thing happened to me today. I took it to an Apple store and they replaced it on the spot. I don't know what was wrong with it, but in my experience with Apple, getting a replacement on the spot is rare...I was driving home thinking there must a some known issue with them I hadn't heard about because it was just too easy...I've only had it since February and it was fine till this...
     
  3. eva01 macrumors 601

    eva01

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2005
    Location:
    Gah! Plymouth
  4. Dagless macrumors Core

    Dagless

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    Fighting to stay in the EU
    #4
    a guy on my mates course had problems with his Shuffle too, but a DiskUtility format later and i think it was alright.
     
  5. iMeowbot macrumors G3

    iMeowbot

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    #6
    Understanding iPod shuffle's status lights You can use the updater (link in article) to try and reload its software. If it still won't respond, it's time to talk to Apple.
     
  6. generationxwing macrumors 6502

    generationxwing

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2005
    Location:
    Calgary
  7. gco212 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2004
    #8
  8. ITASOR macrumors 601

    ITASOR

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2005
    Location:
    Oneida, NY
    #9
    My Shuffle did that and I brought it to BestBuy and said, "See this 2 year waranty I paid $9 for? Give me a new one." And I walked out with a new boxed 512MB Shuffle. :p
     
  9. bbcountach macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2005
    #10
    I had the same prob with my 1giger. After about 2 hours on the phone with apple (thank heaven its a 1-800 number!) We tried everything, and finally the guy ran out of ideas, and they jsut sent me a new one. I was a little disappionted that the 'pod only worked for about an hour out of the box before that happened and that i had to go through all that replacement junk, but it works now. Just thought i'd share...
    -B
     
  10. generationxwing macrumors 6502

    generationxwing

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2005
    Location:
    Calgary
    #11
    Well *****. ;)

    Windows still sucks though!
     
  11. runninmac macrumors 65816

    runninmac

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    Location:
    Rockford MI
    #12
    One of the only reasons I like Best Buy. 2 days ago there was this lady that had no clue about what she was talking about and was acting really rude so I just left and went to Curcit City.
     
  12. erickg macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2004
    #13
    I had a very similar problem with my 1GB iPod Shuffle. It was acting a bit funky for some reason so I used the iPod updater to reset the Shuffle to factory settings. However, the reset stopped half-way with an error message and it wasn't possible to restart the process of resetting it. Also, the iPod would no longer show up on my iBook or any Windows XP comp at uni. What I did was to format the drive with disk utility and then run the iPod updater again to get the Shuffle back to factory settings. Ever since then I haven't had any problems with my Shuffle. :)

    Hope this helps!
     
  13. livingfortoday thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2004
    Location:
    The Msp
    #14
    Thanks for all the good tips guys, but not even Disk Utility will see the shuffle. I thought about bringing it to Apple, but I bought it in January I'm pretty sure, so I think the warranty's expired a while now. I didn't think to buy any extended protections past the 90 days on a $99 iPod.

    Well... I might have to look at a new shuffle, it seems...
     
  14. erickg macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2004
    #15
    The 90 days is only for a single incident of phone support... it's one year on the hardware! Same as any other iPod (see attached image from Apple's website). Good luck getting it replaced!
     

    Attached Files:

  15. livingfortoday thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2004
    Location:
    The Msp
    #16
    Woo-hoo!
     
  16. noht* macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Location:
    * hidden between worlds
    #17
    i had a similar problem a while ago, but couldn't even use disk utility or the iPod updater, because it wouldn't unmount the ipod. in the end i rebooted into single user mode and reformated it using pdisk, kinda brute but it worked...
     
  17. iminimac macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2005
    #18
    i had this problem on my ipod mini. i tried all the techniques to get it back to normal but none worked. in the end i sent it off to apple and now i have a nice new one :)
     

Share This Page