Shuffle problem/question

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by iJon, Mar 1, 2005.

  1. macrumors 604

    iJon

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    #1
    So I have been playing with a demo Shuffle here and I am trying to figure out something, although I think I already know the answer.

    I thought about getting a Shuffle cause I am in need of a flash disk and felt the Shuffle could benefit me on trips where I don't want my big iPod.

    So I set up the Shuffle and enabled disk use and popped it onto a PC and it wasn't reconized. On all the Macs it will pop up as a flash drive but on the multiple PC's would not reconize it unless I isntalled the iPod Software. In that case this Shuffle is pretty much rendered usless to me because I will be using this in conjunction with all kinds of PC's, not just certain ones where I can install software.

    If anyone has had success using their Shuffle on just any PC let me know. Like I said, I think I know my answer but I have only been using this for a day so there could be something I've missed.

    jon
     
  2. macrumors 6502

    Pismo

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2002
    Location:
    NH
    #2
    I think you need to format the Shuffle in Windows. Windows cannot read OS X's format (typical). But, OS X can read Windows just fine. So, you need to use the iPod Updater for Windows and reformat the Shuffle. I think it should be able to work after that.
     
  3. jsw
    Moderator emeritus

    jsw

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Location:
    Andover, MA
    #3
    Hmm. Worked fine for me out of the box, PC and Mac, IIRC (it's been a month). The Updater won't hurt, though, and will bring it up to version 1.1 of the software.
     
  4. macrumors 604

    ravenvii

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2004
    Location:
    Melenkurion Skyweir
    #4
    IIRC, it's preformatted in FAT32, so the filesystem can't be the problem. Update it to 1.1, and try it on Windows. If it doesn't show up automatically, go into My Computer and see if your shuffle's there. There's probably some preference buried deep, deep inside there that got tweaked somehow. You know how those Windows boxes are. ;)
     
  5. macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2001
    Location:
    The Cool Part of CA, USA
    #5
    As already pointed out, this definitely isn't the issue; not only is the Shuffle a FAT32 disk by default (for exactly this reason--that's the same format all keychain drives use because it's immediately compatible with Macs and PCs), but it won't work as a music player if you reformat it as an HFS+ (Macintosh native) disk.

    As for why it's not working, I can't help you, but what OS is it on? I believe you need something newer than Win98 for keychain drives to be recognized without additional drivers.
     
  6. macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2004
    Location:
    The Msp
    #6
    I had this exact same problem with my Shuffle at work yesterday, when I was trying to use it to transfer some large files from my PowerBook to a Dell. I called the computer services people, and they told me that all the office computers had some sort of software installed to prevent the use of flash drives, because I guess they were afraid of people stealing programs or something. I don't know if you're using it in a university/office environment, but if so, you might want to see if this is the case.
     
  7. thread starter macrumors 604

    iJon

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    #7
    All these Windows machines are demo machines with the latest version of WIndows XP. Flash drives work cause i have a PNY one that works without any problems on any of them. Like others said its not a formatted problem, Shuffles are FAT32 out of the box. Also, these PC's would not recognize it, but as soon as I installed the updater Windows found new hardware, saw that it was an iPod and showed it on My Computer for use. I guess the answer I'm really looking to if people are taking their iPod shuffles at putting them on random PC's that they know for sure do not have iTunes or anything iPod related on them and the drive mounts like any normal flash drive.

    jon
     
  8. macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2004
    Location:
    The Msp
    #8
    I actually just remembered. I did use it on a friends PC as a flash drive to transfer some MP3's, and he doesn't have iTunes or any iPod software installed. He's pretty anti-Apple, frankly. So it did work there, though.
     
  9. thread starter macrumors 604

    iJon

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    #9
    Awesome, I guess I will just have to play with it some more. On another note, when I opened the Shuffle I noticed the huge emphasis on "Install software before use." That message kind of ties in to my problem. I'll just play around with it some more this week. I've only tackled this problem for about an hour or so at work today.

    jon
     
  10. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2004
    #10
    I use my iPod shuffle on multiple computers (probably about 20-30 so far) at my uni and have never had a problem (all Windows XP machines), I haven't tried it on the machines running linux and cannot use it on the eMacs, but I expect it would work there if it would fit in the eMacs USB ports... :rolleyes: None of the machines I used it on have any iPod/iTunes related software installed.
     
  11. thread starter macrumors 604

    iJon

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    #11
    Awesome, that was the answer I was looking for. Now that I know it works I just have to work around on it and get it working. Thanks for the help guys.

    jon
     
  12. macrumors regular

    john1123

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Location:
    Down Under
    #12
    i think the "install software before use" refers to iTunes 4.7.1 which you need to transfer music to and setting up the ipod shuffle.

    BTW. my shuffle works great with the pc's at school which don't have any iPod/iTunes software on them.
     
  13. macrumors 68040

    gwuMACaddict

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2003
    Location:
    washington dc
    #13
    haven't had any trouble with mine going back and forth between pc and mac. although the pc's at work dont have iTunes... maybe thats why. i loooove my shuffle
     
  14. Guest

    iGary

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Location:
    Randy's House
    #14
    Love mine too, had a great 20-mile run with it for the first time with the sport case. :D
     
  15. macrumors 68020

    Rod Rod

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    #15
    The shuffle should fit into the available USB port(s) on the keyboard, shouldn't it?
     
  16. macrumors 68000

    kgarner

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2004
    Location:
    Utah
    #16
    Doesn't work there because it wants more power. I tried it with an eMac at school. The ports on the computer are no good, because the Shuffle is too wide to fit in the recess. No biggy as I already have a flash drive and I LaCie Mobile firewire drive I use at school.
     
  17. macrumors 68020

    Rod Rod

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    #17
    Yup how could I forget. The shuffle wants more power than what's available on the keyboard. I thought you were talking about synching but of course you were talking about charging.
     
  18. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2004
    Location:
    Bristol, England
    #18

    That is so annoying, is there anyone here with a flat panel imac and a shuffle? i have to plug it in the back everytime?.....i think a dock is in order....
     
  19. macrumors 68020

    Rod Rod

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    #19
    I suppose that's why Power Mac G5s have a USB port in front. j/k
     
  20. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2005
    Location:
    Essex
    #20
    Hey, at least your not a eMac owner. Then you really do need the dock :( (or a extension lead)
     
  21. macrumors 68020

    miloblithe

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2003
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    #21
    So wait, the shuffle won't charge over USB 1.1? Or just keyboard USB cables? Both my macs are older and don't have USB 2.0. Is a shuffle useless?

    I realize it won't fit into the eMac's recessed ports on the side, but I thought the keyboard would work.
     
  22. macrumors 68020

    Rod Rod

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    #22
    The shuffle works over USB 1.1. The issue is if the USB port doesn't have sufficient power (such as USB ports on Apple's keyboards), the shuffle can't charge. You can sync on a low power port, but you can't charge. The shuffle is far from useless. It'll sync slowly, but 1GB or 512MB doesn't take forever to upload at USB 1.1.
     
  23. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2005
    Location:
    Ann Arbor, MI
    #23
    Check out the PodBuddy for the iMac G5 from DVForge when it becomes available later this month.

    http://www.dvforge.com/portbuddy.shtml

    It essentially extends the USB and Firewire port from the back of the iMac, so that you get ports on the side of the display instead, so you don't have to reach back and possibly scratch your iMac while fumbling to get your Shuffle into the USB port.
     

Share This Page