Sidekick 3

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by BlackSoUl, Nov 26, 2006.

  1. BlackSoUl macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2006
    #1
    Hey, if I bought a sidekick 3 in america would it work over here in England if i got a T-mobile pay as you go sim card?

    Thanks :]
     
  2. adk macrumors 68000

    adk

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2005
    Location:
    Stuck in the middle with you
    #2
    You would have to have and unlocked sidekick. If you buy it directly from Tmobile it will be locked to their system and it won't work on any other network. If you buy an unlocked phone it will work with the SIM card of whichever GSM provider you choose. Purchase with care though, and remember that unlocked phones are really expensive.
     
  3. BlackSoUl thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2006
    #3
    Thanks,
    But what if i get one there on T-mobile and use a UK T-mobile SIM
    Or is that different somehow?
    I've heard MSN/Yahoo/e-mail/browser won't work if it's bought in america :S

    Im really confused
     
  4. lexus macrumors 68000

    lexus

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2006
    Location:
    Depends Greatly On The Weather
  5. BlackSoUl thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2006
    #5
    Sidekick 3??

    I thought only the Sidekick 2 [which they don't sell ANYWHERE? :s] was out here...

    Thanks :]
     
  6. Hummer macrumors 65816

    Hummer

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2006
    Location:
    Queens, New York NY-5
    #6
    If they have it on the UK network as a monthly phone, I'm pretty sure you could buy one anywhere and use it with a prepaid SIM as long as they have prepaid sim rules for the sidekick with data use like they have here in the states.
     
  7. BlackSoUl thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2006
    #7
    :] Like what rules?

    Many thanks
     
  8. zflauaus macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2004
    #8
    You could use the prepaid SIM card, but you would only get to use the phone functions, not the internet or messaging things I believe. This is due to the Sidekick being connected to Danger's servers. I'm pretty sure they are carrier specific and since T-Mobile is the only one that has it, it won't work on any other carrier.
     
  9. Hummer macrumors 65816

    Hummer

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2006
    Location:
    Queens, New York NY-5
    #9
    http://www.t-mobile.com/shop/plans/default.aspx?plancategory=4

    If the UK also has special prepaid sidekick rates, you'll be able to use it.
     

Share This Page