Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

off_piste

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Oct 25, 2015
What's so great about it? How are you using it on your Apple TV? The addons didn't seem particularly noteworthy. I've never used Kodi before so I'm sure I'm just missing the appeal/favorable attributes, etc.

I have a HDD attached to my AEBS and couldn't figure out how to connect but was able to easily and flawlessly connect via Infuse and NAStify.

Lappen71

macrumors 6502
Nov 16, 2012
It´s one other choise of mediaplayer so what is it to get?
If you don´t know anything about XBMC/Kodi for starters Google and read.

derekshank

macrumors regular
Apr 23, 2015
I think it is popular because of the illegal streaming add-ons like Phoenix, Genesis, and 1Channel. Those will never be available on the Apple TV... so sideloading Kodi is the only way to get them on the ATV4.

I have it, but almost never use it. Currently it is my "just in case" option to keep up with new episodes of Better Call Saul. If AMC had a TVOS app, I probably wouldn't ever use it.

Reactions: David58117

Rigby

macrumors 603
Aug 5, 2008
San Jose, CA
What's so great about it? How are you using it on your Apple TV? The addons didn't seem particularly noteworthy. I've never used Kodi before so I'm sure I'm just missing the appeal/favorable attributes, etc.
I have used Kodi for years to stream content I ripped from my discs (e.g. a few hundred HD-DVDs that I ripped after the format died) on HTPCs and other devices. On the Apple TV I use MrMC, Kodi's close relative. ;)

What's great about Kodi from my perspective:

- Very high-quality video playback, works with virtually any format you throw at it.