Silly me, I deleted my network

Discussion in 'macOS' started by Dagless, Oct 1, 2006.

  1. Dagless macrumors Core

    Dagless

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    Fighting to stay in the EU
    #1
    I accidentally dragged out the Network link in the left pane of Finder. I've tried going to the Computer page and dragging it back in, but it won't let me! How would I get it back in?

    Incidentally when I go to the network page in the Go menu it shows no networks or computers. just like it's empty. I hope the 2 are related and easily fixable. I like my network :(
     
  2. skunk macrumors G4

    skunk

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2002
    Location:
    Republic of Ukistan
    #2
    What happens if you go to Finder>Prefs>Sidebar and tick the Network box? You might have to Restart.
     
  3. Dagless thread starter macrumors Core

    Dagless

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    Fighting to stay in the EU
    #3
    silly me! that works a treat.

    Though the network still isn't showing up... ah well I can leave that for another day.
    cheers Skunk!
     
  4. Killyp macrumors 68040

    Killyp

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2006
    #4
    You might need to what? :confused:
     
  5. skunk macrumors G4

    skunk

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2002
    Location:
    Republic of Ukistan
    #5
    It's a little-known technique from the early days of computers. You young 'uns wouldn't know about it.
     
  6. SimonTheSoundMa macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    Location:
    Birmingham, UK
    #6
    Not needed to be done on OS X. Unless you need to restart the kernel.
     
  7. Dagless thread starter macrumors Core

    Dagless

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    Fighting to stay in the EU
    #7
    And for some reason my dad changed the name of the Workgroup on the PC's which is why I couldn't see them! Everythings good.

    I suppose the final question I have is how do I get the network drives to mount automatically on boot up? That would be nice!
     
  8. beatsme macrumors 65816

    beatsme

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    #8
    mount all the network drives to which you wish to connect, and then do this:

    1) Open up System Preferences, and go to Accounts.
    2) in the Accounts pane, click on the Login Items tab
    3) click on the little "+" button
    4) browse for the HD(s) you want to mount on log in, and click "Add"
     
  9. evanrousso macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2006
    #9
    this is one of my main issues with osx, its way too easy to screw up your network or your home folder.
     
  10. chris y. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Location:
    los angeles, ca
    #10
    I did this very same thing a month or two ago and I never figured out how to get my network tab back on my finder. It always bugged me since using the Connect to Server function isnt nearly as easy. But thanks to this thread I have it back!!! Thanks guys!
     

Share This Page