Silly Question: IR receiver on Mac Pro?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by laurensimpson, Nov 22, 2006.

  1. laurensimpson macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2005
    #1
    Yeah I know, silly question. But for the life of me I can't seem to find the answer through the mountains of specs on the mac pro.

    I'm a photographer and will be using the computer for client presentations. I'd like to use the little Apple Remote to cycle through pictures, but have no clue if it's going to work with the Mac Pro. Might have to go with a Bluetooth remote.

    But for those who have one, does it have the IR receiver?

    Cheers,
    Lauren
     
  2. akadmon macrumors 68010

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Location:
    New England
    #3

    Alright, let no one say all I do around here is ask questions! :D

    Here is a workaround that will get Front Row working on a Mac Pro:

    http://www.tuaw.com/2006/11/14/enabling-front-row-on-your-mac-pro-bluetooth-mighty-mouse-edit/
     
  3. kered22 macrumors 6502

    kered22

    Joined:
    May 26, 2006
    Location:
    Torrance, CA
    #4
    Here's an extension on that tip:
    http://www.macosxhints.com/article.php?story=2006110314322775

    This will let you enable FrontRow if you're using another mouse or driver software.

    I ran the original hack and found out that the only way for me to run FrontRow was to disable USB Overdrive and leave my Mighty Mouse plugged in all the time. That wasn't gonna work for me. LOL I just changed the Info.plist file in the USBOverdrive.kext as the tip says and it's working great now. It should work the same if you're using something like SteerMouse, just follow the directions and use it as a guide.
     
  4. wmmk macrumors 68020

    wmmk

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Location:
    The Library.
    #5
    she asked about whether there is an IR port on the MP, not about hacking FR. I won't deny having FR on my G4 mini, but let's not discuss methods of cracking software.
     
  5. akadmon macrumors 68010

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Location:
    New England
    #6
    Huh? I think what she really asked was to help her get Front Row to work on a Mac Pro. :rolleyes:

    Mission accomplished.
     
  6. kered22 macrumors 6502

    kered22

    Joined:
    May 26, 2006
    Location:
    Torrance, CA
    #7
    Well for what it's worth, my Keyspan RF FrontRow Remote does control the slideshow in iPhoto, so that is an option. It will vary on which program is used of course, but FrontRow and iPhoto at least work with this remote.
     
  7. jaguarx macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2003
    Location:
    London
    #8
    There's an App called Mira that is perfect for this, they also sell an IR reciever that will work with the Mac Pro and Apple Remote.
    Get it here.
     
  8. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #9
    The other thing I do in a pinch sometimes is to use my bluetooth mouse... If you hold it in your hand, it can be several meters away from your Mac and still work, and you can click it. Although if you want to let your clients drive, it's not so great.

    But I am a little confused... you're going to use a Mac Pro for client presentations? You're clearly not going to be taking it to meetings with you... what kind of room is it going to be in? Is a remote control going to be practically useful, since you're going to be sitting at a desktop already?
     
  9. laurensimpson thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2005
    #10
    The Mac Pro is primarily for editing pictures. Wouldn't it be nice to be able to afford a ridiculously expensive computer just for presentations? Alas, no, it's a workhorse, but since I am going to have some insane screen real estate, I can use it to show pictures during meetings. It sits on my desk about 10 feet from the couch where clients sit. I'm not actually at the desk thus the need of a remote! They always want to see more pictures so right now all I can do is play a slideshow without having to get up, leave them, and sit at my desk. Being able to control pictures from afar will be super-awesome.

    And while I didn't ask how to enable FrontRow, I had just assumed it would work. Thanks for letting me know it doesn't and that I can fix it up!

    And thanks for all the other tips. You guys rock.

    Lauren
     

Share This Page