Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

cleanup

macrumors 68030
Original poster
Jun 26, 2005
Toronto
I just started playing gutiar and I purchased an electric acoustic. I want to record myself using GarageBand but so far all I've been able to do is use my iMac's internal mic which is horrible (it picks up all the fan noise).

Now, I'm completely new to this, but I'm quite sure that my Line-In port is broken. I plugged in a headset, selected Line In in System Preferences and then screamed into the microphone and it barely registered to 25% on the volume meter... when i switch to the internal microphone it hovers around 15% because of the fan noise.

I was also looking into this... but I was wondering if it would even work (besides the fact that I believe my line in port is messed) because my acoustic electric doesn't have any batteries. It's not powered. Would it still transmit the signal?

Also, I would have to order the GarageBand cable so I experimented. Maybe I'm an idiot. I bought a Female 1/8" to Male 1/4" adapter and plugged it into my guitar. Then I plugged in a 1/8" audio cable (both ends male) into the guitar and my line in. It didn't register at all (0%) in either my iMac or a pair of powered speakers.

By the way, I know for a fact that my guitar works. It works on guitar amps, at least :eek:

Anyways, I was wondering if my Line In port really is broken or if I just need an amplifier of some sort... would the iMic help? How can I get high quality recording of my guitar into GarageBand? Keep in mind that I'm just beginning and it doesn't have to be outragouesly high quality, just better than what I get with the internal mic...

Thanks in advance.

CanadaRAM

macrumors G5
cleanup said: