simcity 4

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by me hate windows, Mar 16, 2003.

  1. macrumors 6502

    me hate windows

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2002
    #1
    I want to get simcity 4 for the mac when it comes out. On Aspyr's site it says for requirements: 500 MHz processor and 32MB of VRAM. I have a G4 400Mhz with 16MB of VRAM . Do I really need to have those, or could I play it on my machine? I do have 768 MB of RAM, would that help at all?:confused::confused::confused:


    Thanks
     
  2. macrumors 604

    MrMacMan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2001
    Location:
    1 Block away from NYC.
    #2
    I doubt it, sim city 4000 looks really graphic based...

    I once though I could get away with something like that.
    "system req: 266 processor"
    Mine: 233 processor

    It crashed on loading. :mad:

    You could try it when it comes out...

    BTW, this should be gaming discussion.
     
  3. macrumors 6502a

    macktheknife

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    #3
    Re: simcity 4

    I would be very careful about the requirements. A great number of posts on the Internet have pointed out how sluggish SimCity 4 is on their machine that far exceeds the suggested requirements. Look at the reviews on Amazon.com to get an idea of what I mean. Folks with 1 GB RAM with a 2 GHz P4 processors have complained about the game's sluggishness on their computers. Thus, I seriously doubt your current set up will handle the game, let alone play it smoothly.

    I understand your anxiety--I want to play it too!
     
  4. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2002
    #4
    I hope the port makes use of altivec, and I also hope the port will be better optimized than the PC-version, like for example the Mac edition of Max Payne was.
     
  5. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2002
    Location:
    Budapest, Hungary
    #5
    Re: simcity 4

    I have the exact same computer and dilema. I really want to play SimCity so not sure if I should upgrade or buy a newer tower!

    And yes, I would upgrade just so I can play one game. Do people think it's worth it?


    James.
     
  6. macrumors 6502a

    macktheknife

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    #6
    Re: Re: simcity 4

    Honestly, if you love to play SimCity that much get a PC. Sorry, I'm a happy TiBook owner, but I am also a generic PC owner. I built the PC myself, and it only cost about $750 (with a 17-inch monitor!). As I had mentioned in my previous post, the hardware requirements for SimCity 4 is quite high, so you had better get the fastest machine you can possibly afford.

    Hope this helps. :)
     
  7. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2002
    Location:
    Budapest, Hungary
    #7
    Re: Re: Re: simcity 4

    I do love SimCity.

    I actually have a PC lying around, but it's a Pentium 90 :)

    I'm wanting to get a burner for my mac, so it might be easier just to buy a newer tower. And who knows what system req 10.3 will have! I think I'll go and search ebay!


    James.
     
  8. macrumors 6502a

    macktheknife

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    #8
    Re: Re: Re: Re: simcity 4

    The general rule is, if your system is more than 2 years old, it is already obsolete. It sounds like your computer will not be able to handle the requirements. Thus, I think it would be cheaper and wiser for you to invest in a new computer.

    Good luck with whatever you do. :)
     
  9. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2002
    Location:
    Budapest, Hungary
    #9
    Thanks for the support :)

    I went and got my G4/400 about 18months ago, second hand.

    So, yeah think I'll invest in something a little more upto date.

    Can't wait to see what happens in Q2 from Apple :)


    James
     
  10. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2001
    Location:
    Marion, Ohio
    #10
    Lol. One of my friends got SimCity4 for his PC Laptop. It has a 1.4Ghz P4 with 256MB DDR RAM and a GeForce4 420 to go, and SimCity4 won't run! The requirements on it are massive, especially compared to what they tote as the requirements. Anyway, I just thought I would let you guys know what you are up against;) Don't try and be cheap on the requirements:p
     
  11. thread starter macrumors 6502

    me hate windows

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2002
    #11
    thanks for all the help, i guess i wont buy it:(
     
  12. macrumors 68030

    irmongoose

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2001
    Location:
    Sometimes Tokyo, sometimes California
    #12
    You're not supposed to buy games... let alone software... psheesh :rolleyes:

    :p :D ;)



    irmongoose
     
  13. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2002
    Location:
    Commerce Township
    #13
    Just like your not supposed to buy hardware. :rolleyes:
     
  14. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2002
    Location:
    New York
    #14
    will it run smoothly on a dual 1.25 with 2MB of L3? is it dual proccessor aware>

    Tyler
     
  15. macrumors 604

    MrMacMan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2001
    Location:
    1 Block away from NYC.
    #15
    No one knows for the mac yet, though it should run fine.
     
  16. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2002
    Location:
    seattle, wa
    #16
    Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: simcity 4

    i better duck :)
    i have a G3 powerbook for my mac, and a 667 PIII dell :p :D :D
     

Share This Page