Simcity Classic or 2000?

Discussion in 'Games' started by SpaceJello, Jan 24, 2007.

  1. SpaceJello macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2006
    #1
    Been feeling old school, anyone know where i can grab a copy of simcity classic or 2000? I don't even know if there were mac versions?
     
  2. Mackilroy macrumors 68040

    Mackilroy

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    #2
    There are Mac versions, and coincidentally enough I have both. However, seeing as I'm not going to upload them ;) you might have to find them at a used electronics store or something.
     
  3. SpaceMagic macrumors 68000

    SpaceMagic

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2003
    Location:
    Cardiff, Wales
    #3
    I think they are freeware now too :)

    I would find them for you but it's 6.15am and I have to get ready for an exam...
     
  4. gadgetgirl85 macrumors 68040

    gadgetgirl85

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
    #4
    Wow I'd like to play them too if they were freeware :D
     
  5. rtdgoldfish macrumors 6502a

    rtdgoldfish

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    Location:
    Jacksonville, FL
    #5
    You can actually play Sim City Classic on Maxis' website for free if you register with a screen name. Check it out: Sim City Classic

    Click on Classic Live on the left side of the page.
     
  6. gadgetgirl85 macrumors 68040

    gadgetgirl85

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
    #7
    I downloaded Simcity 2000 and for some reason it wont run. Do I need some emulator or something to run it?
     
  7. SamIchi macrumors 68030

    SamIchi

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2004
    #8
    SC2000 is the bomb. Filling up your map with arcologies is the coolest. :D
     
  8. gadgetgirl85 macrumors 68040

    gadgetgirl85

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
    #9
    I can't get it to work! :( anyone care to tell me what im doing wrong?
     
  9. Mackilroy macrumors 68040

    Mackilroy

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    #10
    The game is pre-PPC, IIRC. Hence Rosetta cannot translate it. I could be wrong, however – I'll try my copy when I get home.
     
  10. gadgetgirl85 macrumors 68040

    gadgetgirl85

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
    #11
    Cheers, thanks for that :D
     
  11. SpaceJello thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2006
    #12
    Awesome! Thanks for all the info. Please update if it works on intel mac.

    Anyone up for king's quest? AHHAA or Civ 1?
     
  12. p71 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2006
    #13
  13. Maclarny macrumors 6502

    Maclarny

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2003
    Location:
    MN
    #14
    If you're on an Intel Mac im fairly sure you're out of luck :-(. You need the Classic emulator which I'm fairly sure is not possible to get for later Macs.
     
  14. p71 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2006
    #15
    Yeah I believe you are correct. And while Sim City 2000 will work in Classic emulator it doesn't do it so well. I'd think just buy a cheap older Mac off eBay for all the old Mac games
     
  15. ribbonthecat macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 23, 2006
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #16
    None of the links to games on that site seem to work. Other people having this problem as well?
     
  16. gadgetgirl85 macrumors 68040

    gadgetgirl85

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
    #17
    I found a copy of my simcity 2000 and tried to install it on my PC. I ran it from dos and it worked except that the mouse ran slow and when I went back to windows I had to reboot because the colours were messed up. Any ideas?
     
  17. Mackilroy macrumors 68040

    Mackilroy

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    #18
    Just to confirm: it won't work on my MacBook.

    viccles: under Windows, what were the colors set to? SC2k uses 256 colors, so the prefs might've somehow gotten messed up.
     
  18. gadgetgirl85 macrumors 68040

    gadgetgirl85

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
    #19
    Would you be able to tell me how to check the colours? I tried to run it in dosbox but had no idea how to get the CD running :(
     

Share This Page