Simple question - Set system date in Automator

Discussion in 'Mac Programming' started by LERsince1991, Jul 17, 2009.

  1. macrumors 65816

    LERsince1991

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    Location:
    England
    #1
    I have never used this programming stuff before, can someone please tell me how to set the system date in automator or write some sort of script

    I want to try and do the following:
    - Set system date back 1 year
    - Launch Application
    - Wait 60 seconds
    - Set system date using the internet

    How would I go about doing this?

    Thanks in advance!
     
  2. Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #2
    Trying to illegally use a trial app for ever?
     
  3. thread starter macrumors 65816

    LERsince1991

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    Location:
    England
    #3
    Hehe, I've been told not to buy it by the uni I'm going to in september so only for a couple of months because the uni won't let me have it before I'm there and I can't justify buying it for 2 months use and the company said they can't help me basically.

    I just want to do some casual design work over the summer so... :(
    I'll be using it anyway, will just get annoying changing the date once a week or so for a couple of months really...
    Thought someone might say that :p
    the apps very limited anyway
     
  4. Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #4
    Then I'd suggest you look at systemsetup (command line tool), work out how to call a shell script from Automator/AppleScript and then worry about the rest...
     
  5. thread starter macrumors 65816

    LERsince1991

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    Location:
    England
    #5
    Will look into it although I really can't program :p

    What I first tried is using automator I tried recording my action when changing the date, then added an action to open an app etc.. but whatever I recorded wouldn't work, I tried loads of different ways to open system preferences but it wouldn't open it from automator
     

Share This Page