Simplest way for high quality and 5.1 sound?

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by acrafton, Feb 21, 2008.

  1. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    249
    #1
    Ok. . .confused. I have an AppleTV v2, the latest version of handbrake and want to rip some movies for viewing ONLY on the AppleTV. I want highest quality and 5.1 sound. What setting(s) do I need beyond clicking the AppleTV preset - how do I specify that I want 5.1 sound and best quality?

    thanks
    Adam
     
  2. macrumors 604

    Cave Man

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Messages:
    6,651
    Location:
    Neander Valley, Germany; just outside of Duesseldo
    #2
    Just click the preset for Apple TV. So long as you've done the update of the presets, that should give you 2500 video bit rate (as good as you'll get from your DVDs) and both AAC and AC3 audio. If you have a movie that's more than 4 gigs in size, it won't play unless you turn on 64-bit encoding in the preferences (but then won't stream). In those circumstances, I bump down the video bit rate a bit. For example, at the moment I'm encoding King Kong Director's cut at 2300 bit rate because at 2500 bit rate it comes out at 4.03 gb. (I want to be able to stream.)
     
  3. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    Messages:
    14
    #3
    Way to predict size?

    I also want to stream content at 4GB in size. Is there a way to predict the size of file before encoding? I just don't want to use the trial and error method. I want it right the first time; it takes so long to encode.
     
  4. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Messages:
    1,953
    #4
    According to one of the Handbrake devs on another thread the 64-bit files will stream fine to the Apple TV now.
     
  5. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    249
    #5
    What "update of the presets" are you referring to? When I select AppleTV it does not do AC3. . where can I find the new presets? Thanks.
     
  6. macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    Messages:
    2,117
    #6
    Even if you dont turn it on in the preferences, the Built in AppleTV preset automatically turns on 64 bit mp4 . That preference merely "shows" the checkbox in the main window of the gui so the user can choose to turn it on or off. I probably should have been clearer Cave Man. Sorry.
     
  7. macrumors 604

    Cave Man

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Messages:
    6,651
    Location:
    Neander Valley, Germany; just outside of Duesseldo
    #7
    Launch HB092 and select Update Presets from the Presets menu.
     
  8. macrumors 604

    Cave Man

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Messages:
    6,651
    Location:
    Neander Valley, Germany; just outside of Duesseldo
    #8
    That's strange. King Kong was coming in at just over 4 gigs and I could not open it in QT or drop it into iTunes.
     
  9. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 7, 2006
    Messages:
    173
    #9
    May be slightly different in HandBrake, but you can do this in VisualHub by constraining the filesize to 4290MB. Trial-and-error taught me this yielded a 3.99GB file EVERY time. A little extra room is still open for hi-res artwork and tags. But like I said, it may be different in HB. I'd be interested to know if it works in HB too, though.
     
  10. macrumors 603

    roland.g

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Messages:
    5,646
    Location:
    One mile up and soaring
    #10
    Really what size tv are you using. I did tests on HB back in the 0.8.5 or so days at 1500, 2000, and 2500 and the 1500 looked just as good. So I didn't really see a point in going larger.
     
  11. macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    Messages:
    2,117
    #11
    Yes, that is odd. Was the 64 bit checkbox checked ?
     
  12. macrumors 604

    Cave Man

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Messages:
    6,651
    Location:
    Neander Valley, Germany; just outside of Duesseldo
    #12
    I don't know. I chose the ATV preset. Didn't you state above that if that's selected, the 64-bit is turned on?
     
  13. macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    Messages:
    2,117
    #13
    *sigh* mea culpa I just checked and realized that the pref *does* have to be enabled. The appleTV preset will not use 64 bit unless it is. You are correct Cave Man. My apologies.

    fixed in our svn already.
     
  14. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    Messages:
    14
    #14
    Combining Video Instead of Video playlists

    Any suggestions on how to best to combine m4v files as an alternative to video playlists?

    What program should I use? Quicktime Pro?
    Can you combine 64-bit videos with Quicktime Pro? What is the maximum file size for video and Apple TV Playback? I want to combine (3) 3.5 hour movies.
     

Share This Page