Sims 3 on Macbook?

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by lyssalou89, May 22, 2009.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    #1
    Will the Sims 3 run efficiently on the aluminum Macbook 2GHz Intel Core 2 Duo? I have 2GB of stock RAM, what kind of RAM would you suggest using to upgrade it to 4 GB? Thank you!
     
  2. macrumors 6502

    peepboon

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2008
    #2
    I upgrading using crucial :D

    I think the sims will run ok, not at FULL settings, prob the lowest if you want it to run smoothly.

    BTW, anyone else read that Sims 3 has been leaked? Not just the windows version, also the Mac version was leaked
     
  3. macrumors G5

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #3
    OCZ or Crucial
     
  4. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    #4
    I've used only Crucial brand memory to upgrade my Macs over the years have have had nothing but positive experiences with them. As peepboon mentioned, the Sims should run on your system, but it won't be pretty. Even with the memory upgrade. The CPU and GPUs in our Macbooks just aren't powerful enough to run a game like that smoothly on the highest settings.
     
  5. macrumors regular

    Barbie

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Location:
    ocean
    #5
    The Sims 3 runs beautifully on my solid-state MacBook Air, rev. 2, so your MacBook won't have any problems whatsoever !!!

    Barbie :)
     
  6. macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    #6
    What are the specs of your Macbook? :)
     
  7. macrumors regular

    Barbie

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Location:
    ocean
    #7
    A 1.86Ghz Core 2 Duo processor with double the cache of a unibody MacBook (6MB), 2GB of memory and the 128gigabyte really speedy solid-state drive.

    Sims 3 is gonna play very well on MacBook.

    Barbie.
     
  8. macrumors 65816

    Vulcan

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    #8
    It will run fine :)

    Right now, I'm running the Sims 3 on my WhiteBook with a 2.1GHz, X3100, and 4GB of RAM.
     
  9. macrumors 68000

    likemyorbs

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Location:
    NJ
    #9
    the sims 3 runs awesomely on my aluminum macbook with 4gb ram, i love that game!
     
  10. macrumors 6502

    peepboon

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2008
    #10
    Yep, runs smooth as a mother
     
  11. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 17, 2009
    #11
    thats great news!! i was thinkin of mabe getting it today! ha
     
  12. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    #12
    You guys realize that he's talking about the Sims 3 and not Sims 2 right? How are you guys playing part 3 when it's not due out in stores for at least another week? :confused:
     
  13. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2009
    Location:
    Santiago de Chile
    #13
    It's on the web right now:( (mm like 1 week ago actually) ... have it in your computer on some hours:(.. too bad this happened...
     
  14. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2007
    #14
    wow, can't believe it's been leaked!
     
  15. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2009
    #15
    post Link

    can anyone post a link to the download please
     
  16. macrumors 68000

    likemyorbs

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Location:
    NJ
    #16
    oh yeah, we know exactly what he's talking about.
     
  17. macrumors 68000

    likemyorbs

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Location:
    NJ
    #17
    that would be against forum rules
     
  18. macrumors member

    cl0wnzee

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2009
    #18
    Would they be a difference between Sims 3 on a unibody macbook (2.0GHz) with 2GB or 4GB RAM?

    Thank you,
    -Val
     
  19. macrumors 68000

    likemyorbs

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Location:
    NJ
    #19
    absolutely, definitely upgrade to 4gb. its so inexpensive now that you should really do it anyway, there's no reason not to.
     
  20. macrumors 6502

    peepboon

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2008
    #20
    Against forums rules to post link, sorry...
     
  21. macrumors 68000

    ditzy

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2007
    #21
    CPU probably will not make a difference. RAM probably will though. Two will run it four will run it better.
     
  22. macrumors 6502

    peepboon

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2008
    #22
    from what I can tell when I play:

    Firstly, I am using: 2GHZ Unibody Macbook with 4GB ram. Stock harddrive.

    - The quality is mostly set to medium. Haven't tried turning it up higher yet as the game auto sets it up to the best settings ur computer can handle.

    - The game runs smooth at the settings they provide.

    - The quality is ok, nothing compared to what I have seen on the adverts with everything set to high.

    - I haven't had any problems with what some people seem to have like stuck login screens, not able to install, visual problems, etc

    - I think the screen res it sets it to is 1024x7XX (Not entirely sure)

    - Loading and saving takes forever like all previous versions

    - It is a nightmare to control the camera angles with the mighty mouse... u will have to enable edge screen scrolling if thats what your used to. I use a combination of mouse/keyboard. The ball controls the zoom and its too sensitive. When pressed in, it controls tilt for left/right up/down and this is wayyy to sensitive as well. Use the keyboard for these imo.

    - Cheats so far are the same as Sims 2, lol
     
  23. macrumors 68030

    andalusia

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2009
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #23
    I've always wondered this - would it still violate rules if you posted a link to a Google search page on with the link requested, if the link on that Google page is illegal?

    Also, is the download in question the Mac and Windows version?
     
  24. macrumors 6502a

    RiCEADDiCTBOY

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    #24
    just pm the op with the link if need be...however, mininova.org is always a good resource for anything.
     
  25. macrumors 6502

    peepboon

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2008
    #25
    Its not against the rules if you PM people and ask. Just against the rules to post on for the public, etc.

    Also, Mac/Windows uses the same version.

    Hope that helps
     

Share This Page