single-click == double-click?!??!

Discussion in 'macOS' started by janey, Jun 14, 2006.

  1. janey macrumors 603

    janey

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2002
    Location:
    sunny los angeles
    #1
    Seriously searched, first off 90% of my results give me threads where people ask how to right click...

    My mini has this really strange thing going on where any single clicking I do results in the equivalent of a doubleclick, so if i click ONCE on a stupid application to highlight it, it opens it instead...etc.

    Doesn't happen in other user accounts, and I'm a bit too lazy to switch over because that's a bunch of work (assuming there's something wrong with something installed for my account only...copying over all the files would just reproduce the issue on a different account)..does the same thing with all mice, but my main one is a logitech g7.

    i use usb overdrive (logitech doesn't make mac drivers for the g7), might that be part of the problem?

    cheers.
     
  2. bousozoku Moderator emeritus

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Location:
    Gone but not forgotten.
    #2
    Try adjusting the double-click speed in the keyboard/mouse preference pane or wherever USB Overdrive allows changes.
     
  3. dav macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    #3
    Same exact thing is happening on my brand new bluetooth mouse (BT500+). Never had this problem on the BT500 and it is driving me crazy. Sending it in tomorrow. Sigh.
     
  4. janey thread starter macrumors 603

    janey

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2002
    Location:
    sunny los angeles
    #4
    yeah, tried that :( everything from slowest to fastest, what the button does by default...it doubleclicks regardless. once in a while it doesn't doubleclick but it's too sporadic for me to figure out what it is that's making it not doubleclick.
     
  5. Mr.nix macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2007
    #5
    I'm having the same problem on my mac book Pro. Its driving me nuts. I'm also using the G7 with steermouse.
     
  6. slicedbread macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2006
    #6
    try uninstalling the driver (whether steermouse/USB overdrive) and reinstalling, then rebooting.

    also, are any of you running VMware? I have found that with VMware, occasionally it will conflit (i.e. ruin) my usb mouse or keyboard. It was more obvious when I was using LCC, but sometimes with steermouse as well.
     
  7. Mr.nix macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2007
    #7
    I tried that and didn't have any luck. Everything lately has been running kind of strange. Now that I think about it it all kind of started at the same time. I think I narrowed it down to when I installed cleardock. It install something called APE and after doing some research, it seem to be the problem. Removed it and now everything is back to normal.
     
  8. slicedbread macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2006
    #8
    I've heard APE ruining a lot of installs.

    Glad you fixed it.
     
  9. RolloM macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2007
    #9
    Looks like a hardware defect. I have the same problem with a bt500 and a bt500+ mouse her on a Windows XP PC. Unfortunately Bluetake did not answer my corresponding question the last time I asked. Did anyone get a confirmation for that defect?

    Guess I'll have to return both mice. Very annoying.

    Simon
     
  10. RolloM macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2007
    #10
    "Don't buy"

    Bluetake still have not answered my support request. Looks like I have to advise anyone considering to buy BT500 mouse not to do so. Because: What is a two years manufacturer warranty worth if they do not react to corresponding requests?
     
  11. smcclafferty macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2008
    #11
    Issues Double Click

    This double clicking is driving me crazy! You indicated that you removed the APE? Does the APE fall into itunes as well? Should I unistall itunes?

    Shawn
     
  12. mysterytramp macrumors 65816

    mysterytramp

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    Location:
    Maryland
    #12
    I have a wireless Logitech mouse. It sometimes thinks a single click is a double click. Usually that means it's about time to change the battery.
     
  13. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #13
    APE is not iTunes, there is no need to uninstall iTunes.

    Here:

    To uninstall Application Enhancer either:

    Prior to version 2.0:

    Click on APE Manager or Application Enhancer in System Preferences. Choose the Uninstall option under the Information tab.

    Version 2.0 and newer:

    Click on Application Enhancer in System Preferences. Click the "Troubleshooting..." button in the About tab. Click the "Uninstall Application Enhancer..." button and follow the instructions.

    OR

    Download the Application Enhancer installer from unsanity.com/haxies/ape run it and click uninstall.
     
  14. applemagic123 macrumors regular

    applemagic123

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009
    #14
    Sorry for the bump but here goes...

    Sometimes I notice that a single click equals a double click both on my iMac AND my macbook. It usually does it directly after I've double clicked on one thing and then single click on something in the same position as what I double clicked on. What helps for me is holding down the mouse button for a second while doing the single click. Try it.
     

Share This Page