Single G5

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by dwd3885, Oct 7, 2005.

  1. dwd3885 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2004
    #1
    I was looking around and have found a Single Processor G5 1.8 for $900. Is that a good deal? 512MB RAM, 160GB HD, GeForce 5200FX. This might allow me to stay with Mac and not have to break the bank
     
  2. dmw007 macrumors G4

    dmw007

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Location:
    Working for MI-6
    #2
    Sounds like a good deal to me. Is it an iMac G5 or a Power Mac G5? Regardless, either system should provide you with a good deal of power and of course run what is most important- Mac OS! :)
     
  3. revisionA macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 27, 2005
    #3
    be sure you get the one with pci-x slots and 8 ram slots.

    It has a 900mhz frontside bus.

    the later model has only 4 rams slots and a 600mhz fsb.

    $
     
  4. dwd3885 thread starter macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2004
    #4
    It is a Power Mac. Also, a single G5 would be better than Dual 1.25ghz G4's right?
     
  5. dornoforpyros macrumors 68040

    dornoforpyros

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2004
    Location:
    Calgary, AB
    #5
    Not nessarily. there are some dual g4's than can whip a g5 for certain task.
     
  6. wdlove macrumors P6

    wdlove

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2002
    #6
    Certainly looks like a good deal to me also. Having the Power Mac is even better, is very upgradable. Yes, you will have better specifications. It should provide all the power that you need. Would recommend more RAM.
     
  7. revisionA macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 27, 2005
    #7
    g5 vs g4 dual

    I would check out barefeats.com and see if they list any comparison.

    newer software will probably make a single g5 closer to a dual g4 in performance. CS 2 of adobe is optimized for g5, for example.

    The g4 uses ATA-IDE drives
    the g5 uses S-ATA drives

    the g4 uses Simm memory (133mhz IIRC)
    the g5 uses DDR3200 memory and holds a lot more

    the fsb of the g5 is either 900 or 600mhz
    the fsb of the g4 is 167mhz? or close to that.

    There are a lot of differences, some programs will be faster by a ways on the g5, or a little bit faster on the g4.

    The only thing I am lacking by not having a dual... the ability to use Quicktimes new HD codec (g4 wont do it either I bet!). And of course, with one processor, you might have to wait till something important like dvd authoring is completed to start another data intensive process.

    $
     
  8. Ryan T. macrumors 6502a

    Ryan T.

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2005
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    #8
    For the record, my SP1.6 is great, it just needs > 1GB of RAM. Actually, I should say it needs > 1GB of RAM if you plan on leaving it on without a reboot for a week or more at a time.
     
  9. _bnkr612 macrumors 6502a

    _bnkr612

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2004
    #9
    I would like to find a 1.6 with 8 slots. It only allows 4 (4 gig max) cause it has one processor. Duals have four slots per processor (8 slots at 8 gigs max).

    PCI X are not on the 1.6 mate. Just little 33mhz slots.

    More info here.

    Cheers.
     
  10. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #10
    And the average price of dual 1 GHz+ G4's on eBay is over $900
     
  11. FFTT macrumors 68030

    FFTT

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2004
    Location:
    A Stoned Throw From Ground Zero
    #11
    Single processor G5

    Those single processor 1.8 GHz towers are having known reliability issues.

    I would wait to see what happens next week and perhaps take advantage
    of a current model price drop.
     

Share This Page