Site problem!

Discussion in 'Site and Forum Feedback' started by network23, Sep 24, 2004.

  1. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2002
    Location:
    Wisconson
    #1
    Is anyone else seeing this, or is it just me?

    Recently (last week or so), I've started having problems with the MacRumors site in that the ad will load, and the pageload will stop. It will take 2-4 reloads of the page before I can see anything below the adspace.

    Now, some more sinister than I would think it was a cheap way to increase ad hit counts, but I'm sure it's just an html coding error that I wanted to bring to your attention and see if anyone else was having the same problem.
     
  2. macrumors 603

    zelmo

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2004
    Location:
    Mac since 7.5
    #2
    I have not had this problem on my Mac at work, at home, or on my laptop.
     
  3. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    Ohio
    #3
    The same thing happens to me occasionally. This only seems to happen on my work PC and when using Firefox.

    It doesn't seem to happen when using IE on my PC (granted it has been a long time since I used IE for any browsing, Mac or PC) or when using Safari or Firefox on my Mac. :confused:
     

    Attached Files:

  4. Moderator emeritus

    edesignuk

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Location:
    London, England
    #4
    Same here, Firefox on my PC at work keeps having this problem. Not sure if it's MR or Firefox though.
     
  5. macrumors 65816

    hcuar

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2004
    Location:
    Dallas
    #5
    Gah... I thought it was me. It happens to me at work (Windows 2000 / Mozilla 1.7.3) and at home (OS X / Safari).
     
  6. Moderator emeritus

    edesignuk

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Location:
    London, England
    #6
    The plot thickens...
     
  7. macrumors 6502a

    t300

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2004
    #7
    Cue scary Hitchcockian music...
     
  8. macrumors 6502

    continuum

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2004
    Location:
    Beautiful Lake Tahoe
    #8
    just happened to me at work with XP and IE about 5 minutes ago.

    is that 1000 ravens flying above?
     
  9. macrumors 65816

    yoda13

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2003
    Location:
    Texas
    #9
    I too have had this problem once or twice. Always using Safari on my Mac.
     
  10. Moderator emeritus

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    #10
    Me too. Although it seems to have recently cleared up.

    Like some others: Safari 1.2.2 on OS 10.3.4

    Thought it was a Safari thing, cleared my cache...
     
  11. macrumors 68030

    homerjward

    Joined:
    May 11, 2004
    Location:
    fig tree
    #11
    never used to happen w/ firefox until i got 1.0 but now it does. in netscape 7.2(my favorite browser behind hypersalamander as it's calling itself now due to the firesomething extension and netscape 4.7 which sadly renders macrumors completely wrong, without java or tables or anything even though i have all plugins...
     
  12. macrumors 6502a

    evil_santa

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2003
    Location:
    London, England
    #12
    had the same problem on osx/safari since one of the recent security updates, seems to have gone away now..
     
  13. macrumors Core

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    #13
    just happened to me too, in Safari, but i have noticed it in Firefox as well, OS X 10.3.5
     

Share This Page