Site won't refresh through Proxy

Discussion in 'Web Design and Development' started by Rethin, Feb 2, 2006.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2005
    Location:
    Tokyo
    #1
    Here's the deal. I keep a small website for my local running club. The site gets updated very often, usually every other day or so.

    The problem lies when others (and myself) try to access the page from work behind a proxy server. The proxy almost always serves a stale page. Most of the users aren't savy enough to keep hitting refesh until the proxy goes out and grabs the latest page.

    I added these tags to the header.

    <meta http-equiv="cache-control" content="no-cache, must-revalidate">
    <META HTTP-EQUIV="Pragma" CONTENT="no-cache">
    <META HTTP-EQUIV="Expires" CONTENT="-1">

    This helped a little but my proxy server still gives me stale pages when I view the site.

    I know very little about web developing so any help will be greatly appreciated.

    Thanks

    Rethin
     
  2. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2005
    Location:
    Tokyo
    #2
    Hmmm....

    Kinda quiet on this thread.

    Let me add some more details, maybe that'll help people help me.

    The problem might lie in the structure of the page. Its very deep nested in frames and iframes. If I request a page directly (by passing all the frames by putting the page I want to refresh in the url bar) I get a fresh page. If I just load up the index.html and view the page through the frames it often is stale.


    You can view the site at http://www.tlh3.com

    Just be nice, like I said I'm not a web developer.

    Thanks

    Rethin
     
  3. macrumors 603

    jeremy.king

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    Fuquay Varina, NC
    #3
    did you add those meta tags to ALL of the pages included in the frameset, including the index page?

    You may also want to try a value of no-store in your pragma meta tag...
     
  4. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2005
    Location:
    Tokyo
    #4
    You mean like this?
    <META HTTP-EQUIV="Pragma" CONTENT="no-cache, no-store">

    I put the header in all the pages.
    The heirachy looks like this

    index.html (which holds 2 frames)

    nav_frame
    nav.html

    main_frame
    main_i.html (which holds an i_frame)
    main.html

    If I load up main_i.html in the browser and keep hitting refresh I keep getting stale pages.
    If I load up main.html in the browser and hit refresh I get the fresh page after one refresh.


    Rethin
     
  5. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2005
    Location:
    Tokyo
    #5
    Try it out

    Okay, if anybody is stuck at work behind a proxy you can see exactly what I'm talking about.

    Just goto the forum section and post a message (just put test in the subject, I'll delete it later). Then click on the forum link and your new message won't appear.

    Then type in the url directly

    http://www.tlh3.com/board/wwwboard.html

    Hit F5 once or twice and you can see your new message.

    Once you do this the problem and (hopefully) the solution will become clear.

    Thanks

    Rethin
     
  6. macrumors 68030

    superbovine

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2003
    #6
    force you proxy not to cache your website :D tell it COW SAID SO.

    seriously, ask your admin if s/he'd hook you up.
     
  7. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2005
    Location:
    Tokyo
    #7
    Its not so much of a problem for me. The problem is for all the other members of the club that try to view it from work. Asking them to ask their admins is not really practical.

    Beside, I don't want to draw any attention to all those hits on a non-work related site.:)

    Rethin
     
  8. macrumors 68030

    superbovine

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2003
    #8
    heh...well control of the proxy server is the only way to solve your problem.
     
  9. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2005
    Location:
    Tokyo
    #9

    The ONLY way :(

    Surely some web guru out there must know of a way to work around this problem.
     

Share This Page