Size of the SSD?

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by terraphantm, Apr 20, 2010.

  1. macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2009
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    #1
    Hi guys, I'm wondering what snow leopard reports the size of the 128GB SSD to be. Mine is reporting at ~121GB, which seems like less than it should since Snow Leopard uses base-10 for calculating drive space now.
     
  2. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    #2
    here is 120.99Gb
     
  3. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    #3
    Mine reports 128.04 GB.
     
  4. macrumors 6502a

    PsyD4Me

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Location:
    under your bed
    #4
    Runcore: 127.69 GB
     
  5. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    #5
    What happen to my 8 gb?
     
  6. macrumors 68000

    Jason Beck

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2009
    Location:
    Cedar City, Utah
    #6
    Intel 80 gb gen2 reporting as such. Well slightly under. =D
     

    Attached Files:

  7. thread starter macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2009
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    #7
    I'm wondering the same thing.. I could definitely use any amount of extra space that i can get
     
  8. macrumors 601

    Scottsdale

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    #8
    My stock SSD reported 120.99 and my Runcore reports just under 128 GB. I have NO CLUE as to why that would be or how it would happen? I thought it should report a stock SSD as 128 GB also??? I have always wondered what is going on here. I assume it's the drive itself reporting the way it was when manufactured or OS X was first installed on it. I got mine the day the MBA was updated, so it shipped with Leopard originally. When I installed Snow Leopard, I remember the drive space changing, but I think the size was reported inaccurately. When I first installed the Runcore SSD, I used Snow Leopard to partition the drive, so I have to assume that is somehow the difference?

    Any other guesses?
     
  9. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2008
    #9
    Could it be the file system, used for indexing/mapping/bad blocks?

    My 128 also reports 120.99gb
     
  10. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2009
    #10
    Mine too

    I JUST bought a NEW MBA last night, 128 SSD, mine too reports 120.99 as well
     
  11. macrumors 601

    Scottsdale

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    #11
    Well, that blows my theory of if Snow Leopard partitioned the drive it would be larger, as mine was partitioned with Leopard.

    I have NO CLUE, still. Anyone can answer this? Why do Runcores show 128 GB while Samsungs show 120.99? I would bet these are the exact same size, but there's something with the file system and way partitioning reports size? I wonder if all are same Extended and Journaled?
     
  12. thread starter macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2009
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    #12
    my guess is that it isn't really a 128GB SSD. Apple really shouldn't advertise it as such, but since all of them seem to be ~121GB (the stock ones anyway) there probably isn't anything we can do about it.
     

Share This Page