Size of Time Machine backup not as big as source?

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Lion (10.7)' started by Madvillain, Dec 2, 2011.

  1. Guest

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    #1
    Hello,

    I just ran a time machine backup (to a time capsule), the first one on this drive. I am concerned it is not working properly. I have selected to exclude only my iTunes folder, leaving a backup size of 135 GB. The backup is complete, and the Sparse Disk Image Bundle size is 90 GB.

    Why is there a 45 GB difference between the size of what is supposed to be backed up and the backup?


    Thanks for any help.


    -MS
     
  2. macrumors 6502a

    johnhurley

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2011
    #2
    Compression probably? Backups can be compressed to save space ... not sure if Time Machine has a setting to enable/disable that feature.
     
  3. thread starter Guest

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    #3
    Meaning I am losing data in my image files?
    That's no good.
     
  4. macrumors 65816

    Partron22

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2011
    Location:
    Yes
    #4
    No, if it were lossy compression, the elves would be hearing our cries of pain in Rivendell by now.

    Some of that 45GB could come from differences in block size between the two volumes. Some may come from the stripping of unneeded 'versions' of a file before it gets sent to the backup. Your older backups already contain some file versions, so there's no need to duplicate that data.
     
  5. thread starter Guest

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    #5
  6. thread starter Guest

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    #6
    Looks like the reason is a 35 GB cache for Adobe Camera Raw.
     

Share This Page