Skype 6 for Mac Now Supports Facebook Logins and the Retina Display

Discussion in 'Mac Blog Discussion' started by MacRumors, Oct 24, 2012.

  1. macrumors bot

    MacRumors

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2001
    #1
    [​IMG]


    [​IMG]
    Microsoft has updated Skype to version 6, adding Retina display support as well as the ability to sign into Skype using a Facebook account. This eliminates the need to sign up for a separate Skype account. Last year, Skype added the ability to make Facebook chat and video calls to its app.
    Skype for Mac is a free download from Skype.com.

    Article Link: Skype 6 for Mac Now Supports Facebook Logins and the Retina Display
     
  2. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2011
    #2
    How about Notification Center support?
     
  3. macrumors 6502a

    miniroll32

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    #3
    When are they going to release the update that fixes crappiness?
     
  4. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2012
    Location:
    Minneapolis
    #4
    I installed it. Notification Center support's included.
     
  5. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    #5
    So, how do I start a conversation in a separate window? :confused:
     
  6. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2012
    #6
    Go to 'Preferences' -> 'General' -> 'Open conversation in new window when double-clicked in the sidebar'.
     
  7. macrumors 65816

    kirky29

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    Location:
    Lincolnshire, England
    #7
    Chats in a another window. Thank you!
     
  8. macrumors 6502a

    byke

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Location:
    LDN. UK
    #8
    Does it still have that pig ugly, and oversized GUI ?
    I am still on 2.something because of it.
     
  9. macrumors 6502a

    poobear

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    #9
    Yep. Don't see any difference in the GUI
     
  10. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Location:
    New York
    #10
    When you place the Skype Test Call on the Macbook Pro is it normal for the voice that is played back to only come from the right speaker or should it come from both speakers?

    Please let me know!
     
  11. macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    #11
    It should come from both.

    I don't see it. My options are built-in or Growl, same as before, and it doesn't appear in NC preferences.


    It's really weird that you can enable/disable that. It's not like double clicking will do anything else there.
     
  12. macrumors 68000

    ThunderSkunk

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2007
    Location:
    Durango, Co
    #12
    If the interface wasn't designed as backward and unfriendly as possible, Skype wouldn't have the unique distinction of being the ONLY app that I use the tiny pixelated iPod Touch version of on this huge retina displayed iPad 3.

    But it is, so I do.

    For gods sakes, hire someone, anyone to put some, any, thought into your UI already. It's awful, and has been for longer than you could possibly come up with a good excuse for.
     
  13. Guest

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2005
    Location:
    Currently in Switzerland
    #13
    The best news is: you can resize their window a little better. Skype is THE crap of the crap for UI...amazing.
     
  14. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    #14
    How much RAM does this version use? Version 2.8 used 50mb. Version 5 needs 120 -150mb.
     
  15. Guest

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2005
    Location:
    Currently in Switzerland
    #15
    Without doing anything (just being open), 163MB here.
     
  16. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    #16
    I'll stick to my reliable 2.8.X then
     
  17. macrumors 6502a

    MasterHowl

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2010
    Location:
    North of England
    #17
    Installed.

    UI is just as awful as before, but notification centre integration is quite nice.

    Icon has changed slightly too.
     
  18. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    #18
    Thanks.

    If I run Skype 2.8 and Adium for MSN I use 95mb of RAM in total. I was hoping Microsoft might slim down Skype.
     
  19. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    #19
    Same here.
     
  20. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010
    #20
    That icon!
    Also, the menu bar icon is now black instead of coloured (e.g. green as online).
     

    Attached Files:

  21. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    #21
    how about they optimize the iphone 5 while they are at it too.
     
  22. macrumors 6502a

    george-brooks

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2011
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    #22
    Just realized yesterday I was using version 2.x and updated to 5. Bad timing!!! haha.

    I rarely use skype. iChat/Messages is so much better and I don't have to add a whole extra set of contacts (though I guess now skype integrates with contacts)
     
  23. macrumors newbie

    frexer

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2012
  24. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2007
    #24
    30 seconds and I've already run into three bugs. My advice: Wait for for the first patches.
     
  25. macrumors 68000

    wikus

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2011
    Location:
    Planet earth.
    #25
    THIS.

    Holy hell, the UI designer for Skype 5 should be FIRED.
     

Share This Page