Skype and no line in volume!

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by DOlsson, Feb 19, 2007.

  1. DOlsson macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2007
    #1
    Hey guys I have an issue here.

    I'm using the latest version of skype here and everything is great EXCEPT the line in.

    My iSight built in mic picks up sound and works fine. However I'm using a headset with a microphone built in. I've gone into Skype settings and chose the "Built in Input Line - In".

    I've even gone into my sound settings in System Preferences and ensured nothing was muted.

    No matter what I do, I can't seem to pick up any sound from this Line In mic, only the built in webcam microphone.

    Anyone know what's going on here?

    I've ensured that the headset/microphone combo are working, I have a windows PC and it's fine.

    :confused:
     
  2. Sesshi macrumors G3

    Sesshi

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2006
    Location:
    One Nation Under Gordon
    #2
    The Mac doesn't have a pre-amp on the line input. Virtually every PC laptop does. That's why the mic works on a Windows machine and not on the Apple laptop. I'd suggest a USB headset.
     
  3. gauchogolfer macrumors 603

    gauchogolfer

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Location:
    American Riviera
    #3
    The line-in on your laptop won't work with a regular headset/microphone. It needs to be powered. Instead, you will need to use a USB-mic. This is your only other option. Annoying, but true.

    Edit: too slow...
     
  4. DOlsson thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2007
    #4
    Whew!

    Wow, for a second there I thought my BlackBook was broken!!

    Thanks for the replies. I read something about that online but didn't want to accept as being true :)

    Thanks again - really appreciate the quick responses. :)
     
  5. Timusius macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2013
    #5
    It's not the hardware that limits the input, even though this is the explanation you will get when you ask any religious Apple fan.

    If you run Windows or Linux on your mac you're able to control the "microphone boost". This will allow you to use the input as a unpowered mic input, just as you're able to on every "Windows laptop".

    I'm guessing that Apple didn't want users to be able to do this in OSX because it makes the OS a little bit more complicated to use.
    Apples designs are made to "just work", so they they would rather force people buy a USB headset, instead of letting users decide what to use.

    Stupid...
     
  6. palmharbor macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    #6
    issue

    The sad issue is that Skype gives apple users very little basic information
    but focuses on issues of little concern to most users.
     

Share This Page