Skype Backgrounding Fails?

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by whyrichard, Aug 23, 2010.

  1. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2002
    #1
    Hey,

    I need to keep my skype app running in the background ALL the time... however it seems to intermittently disconnect (running ios4 of course)...

    is it a bug in ios4 or skype's app that is seems to require re-logging on every once in a while, even though double clicking to see all the background running apps shows that skype is there? ... or is there some way to keep skype running in the background AND constantly logged on?

    thanks,

    r.
     
  2. celticpride678

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Location:
    Boston, MA
  3. thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2002
  4. celticpride678

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #4
    There have been issues with Skype running in the background when you're jailbroken. Make sure everything that you've installed via Cydia is up-to-date.
     
  5. thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2002
  6. macrumors 603

    Carlanga

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Location:
    PR
    #6
    out of ram? 3gs?

    It was happening with me too and I think the problem was too many Mobilesubstrate addons where running plus leaving webpages open in safari (or looking through various pages at the same time) will dramatically decrease the ram, especially if you are on a 3GS and I believe once it reaches close to capacity it will turn off apps that were on to conserve ram. I did update some of my MS addons also but I believe mostly the disconnections are either by ram decrease or (conspiracy theory) an overload in skype servers and if it doesn't hear from you for a while you might be bumped out maybe since it is a P2P type of software and they don't want to make too many people supernodes for now... :rolleyes:
     
  7. thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2002
    #7
    don't thin it is a ram problem... not too many programs running...

    ...and it seems to have happened to me again, after i've updated everything.

    thanks,
    r.
     
  8. macrumors 603

    Carlanga

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Location:
    PR
    #8
    umm I see.... maybe another voip app on your phone is messing up the backgrounding voip of skype?

    Also, everytime you respring or turn on/off the phone completely you have to open skype for it to sign on again even though is open in the taskbar, so maybe if you lose the 3g signal completely maybe you have to open the app to sign in after the phone gets the signal again, like for example when in an elevator or no signal area's (I don't know if that happens?)? Do you have the package from cydia "remove recent", I don't know if that app in particular messes it up but there was something I didn't like about it and removed it. Also, make sure you are on the latest build of mobile substrate!
     

Share This Page