Skype "Camera is in Use By Another Application" SL

Discussion in 'Mac Applications and Mac App Store' started by SHADO, Nov 3, 2009.

  1. macrumors 6502a

    SHADO

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    Location:
    Beach
    #1
    So I had Skype in Leopard and it worked fine. However, ever since upgrading to SL, whenever I try to launch a video chat or go to the video prefs in Skype, it says the camera is in use by another application. I have the latest version of Skype installed, and I have uninstalled and re-installed it several times. I have repaired permissions and still nothing works. I have quit every application and launched it and it still says this. Anyone have any suggestions?
     
  2. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2009
    Location:
    Santiago de Chile
    #2
    Did you restart your computer :rolleyes:? Maybe a widget it's using the camera? check the activity monitor :p
     
  3. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    SHADO

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    Location:
    Beach
    #3
    Yea I restarted and I checked the activity monitor and widgets, but it still comes up with that message. My friend has the same problem on his brand new (as of today) MBP where the camera does not work in Skype.
     
  4. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2009
    Location:
    Santiago de Chile
    #4
    Have you tried other applications and see if it works? Photo Booth or something
     
  5. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    SHADO

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    Location:
    Beach
    #5
    Yea I did and it does work in Photo Booth and iChat. It seems to be a problem with Skype itself.
     
  6. macrumors newbie

    macsrule25

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    #6
    try unplugging it before starting it. then replug it into a different USB port.
     
  7. macrumors P6

    Peace

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Location:
    Space--The ONLY Frontier
    #7
    How does one unplug the camera in a Macbook ?
     
  8. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2009
    #8
    im actually on skype (video chatting) right now in Snow Leo.... so i know it works! Do you have ANY other apps running that my be using your camera? Is your camera light on?
     
  9. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    #9
    Similar problem - more info

    I have the same problem on the same machine (13" MBP) - iChat video works but Skype video gives me the same message (camera in use). I have done all the things Shado has done - reloaded Skype, tossed the preferences. I have successfully skype video'd with my friend who has Snow Leopard on a 24" iMac (I see my friend but of course my friend does not see me). Any help is appreciated.
     
  10. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    #10
    Well 15 minutes later with the help of Google I found a reference that refers to "setting" up the audio and video in Skype. Turns out (duh!) that I have my MBP connected to the Apple 24" monitor with its own built-in iSight and I had to specify that I was using the "Display iSight" as opposed to the "Built-in iSight". Sorry for clogging up the thread.
     
  11. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    #11
    Hi Folks. I found a solution that worked for me:

    Close Skype
    go to /Library/QuickTime/
    DELETE this file: CamCamX5.component
    Open and login skype ;-)

    Please give credit to our french brothers:
    http://forum.mac4ever.com/post607938.html#p607938


    :)
     
  12. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    SHADO

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    Location:
    Beach
    #12
    Thanks for the suggestion man but I don't have that file in my Library/Quicktime folder. I only have AC3MovieImport.component and Perian.component.

    Edit: Fixed it. I started up Quicktime X and recorded a short video using the iSight camera. Then when I opened Skype, the video camera worked fine. Hope this helps people.
     
  13. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2007
    #13
    I suddenly started getting the same Skype "Camera is in Use By Another Application" error after uploadeding a whole bunch of QT codecs to the /library yesterday.

    CamCamX5.component must have been one in the pack. After deleting it everything works

    Thanks LouZerpa and http://forum.mac4ever.com/post607938.html#p607938
     
  14. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    SHADO

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    Location:
    Beach
    #14
    Nice. I don't have the CamCamX5.component in my Library so I can't remove that. So every time I want to video chat with someone I have to record a short video in Quicktime X and then it works. Pretty annoying but o well.
     
  15. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    #15
    Make sure you do not go to your 'user'/Library..., start from your harddrive (often Macintosh HD) /Library/QuickTime ... you will find it there if it exists. Worked for me!
     
  16. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010
    #16
    It worked for me.

    I've been trying to solve this problem for a very long time and finally today, ten months after your original post, Google sent me to this forum. So ten months after the fact, thanks for the answer that solved my problem.

     
  17. macrumors member

    xsimsimx

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010
    #17
    try reinstalling skype
     
  18. macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2009
    #18
    If you have oovoo that is a problem you need to close the program, oovoo takes control of you video camera and will not let you use it..
     
  19. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    #19
    somebodys watching you... duh duh duh
     
  20. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2010
    #20
    blame google

    For me the googletalk plugin was the issue.
    I quit the process from the activity monitor, it crashed firefox where gmail was open, but the camera was available again.
     
  21. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    #21
    Tried it all

    Don't have CamCamX5.component. Tried deleting everything in /Library/QuickTime. Tried recording a video in QuickTime. Skype still is saying my iSight Camera is in use by another application. Anymore ideas?
     
  22. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    #22
    now Quick Time crashes!

    Same problem: don't have that CamCamX5 component and recording a video with Quick Time is impossible because it crashes as soon as I try recording. Camera works fine in Photo Booth and iChat though!
    Any new ideas?
     
  23. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    SHADO

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    Location:
    Beach
    #23
    Mine kinda randomly started working again a while ago after I updated OSX and there was a Skype update issued. I have no idea what caused it to start working tho.
     
  24. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2012
    #24
    退出 (You have to CLOSE SKYPE)
    1. 進入左上 [finder] (left corner to enter)
    img> http://www.u-file.net/f-uqi7898

    2.按 Command+ F ( select: OTHER )
    img> http://www.u-file.net/f-crl7881

    3. 眼睛仔細找並打勾 [系統檔案]; 按[好] 退出 (search and select: SYSTEM
    img> http://www.u-file.net/f-bjz6481

    4. 照這樣選 [包含]; 後打入 [CamCamX5.component] 就可以找到[它] 刪除了!
    (Select SYSTEM & INCLUDE; type in "CamCamX5.component;" now you'll see it, delete it, Skype Video works !! )
    img> http://www.u-file.net/f-gjg6130
     

Share This Page