Skype v. iChat

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by numbersyx, Nov 20, 2006.

  1. numbersyx macrumors 65816

    numbersyx

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2006
    #1
    Hi Guys, about to return to the Mac after a decade of using the other OS. I have used Skype on XP and am curious as to whether iChat actually works better when using video.

    Any thoughts?
     
  2. amiga macrumors 6502

    amiga

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2006
    Location:
    London.
    #2
    I can't get iChat to work with my system (for video). So I use Skype...
     
  3. Compile 'em all macrumors 601

    Compile 'em all

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2005
    #3
    In the latest version of skype, they crippled the video resolution for G4s :mad:.
     
  4. jsw Moderator emeritus

    jsw

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Location:
    Andover, MA
    #4
    Now that Skype 2.0 is out for Mac and PC, I'd have to say that the video quality is quite good. One of these years, I should iChat with my one brother who has a new Mac and good bandwidth to see if the iChat quality is better, but the quality with my PC-owning brother and 3.5-year-old iMac-owning parents is comparable (Skype vs iChat).
     
  5. clevin macrumors G3

    clevin

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    #5
    ichavt can only work with aim5.9 on pc, and now aim is upgrading.....
    skype is easier
     
  6. bousozoku Moderator emeritus

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Location:
    Gone but not forgotten.
    #6
    iChat has never been all that stable for video but the quality of the image is great. I've had to restart the conversation a few times during a single chat. Skype has never done that but, as has been said, the quality isn't all there right now. I'm confident that they'll work it out but it might be a while.
     
  7. quigleybc macrumors 68030

    quigleybc

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Location:
    Beautiful Vancouver British Columbia, Canada
    #7
    Mac to Mac, iChat is king IMO

    but for Mac to PC Skype is the winner.

    Overall I like Skype better.
     
  8. dpaanlka macrumors 601

    dpaanlka

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Location:
    Illinois
    #8
    I just rely on iChat because all my friends have Macs that I want to video chat with.
     
  9. jacg macrumors 6502a

    jacg

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2003
    Location:
    UK
    #9
    I like the way iChat makes conversations possible without headphones. Obviously if you build laptops with the microphone next to the speaker, your software can take this into account. (sound only comes out of the other speaker)

    Skype always results in feedback for me - someone has to reach for headphones.
     
  10. tuartboy macrumors 6502a

    tuartboy

    Joined:
    May 10, 2005
    #10
    They seem rather young to be parents...
     
  11. numbersyx thread starter macrumors 65816

    numbersyx

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2006
    #11
    Sounds like the video is better in iChat but Skype is more stable. Good to know as I've persuaded another couple of friends to join me in my march back to the Mac.....
     
  12. connorhays macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2004
  13. aholden12592 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    #13
    iChat doesn't work on my mac so i use adium for aim and skype for the only two people i know who have a skype account.
     
  14. bousozoku Moderator emeritus

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Location:
    Gone but not forgotten.
    #14
    How is it that iChat doesn't work?
     
  15. aholden12592 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    #15
    whenever i open iChat my account disconnects and it says the connection to the host was unexpectedly lost
     
  16. quigleybc macrumors 68030

    quigleybc

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Location:
    Beautiful Vancouver British Columbia, Canada
    #16

    system prefs>sharing>Firewall on?>is the box for iChat AV checked off ? it should be....
     
  17. aholden12592 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    #17
    there was only an option for iChat Bonjour. I checked it and pressed start in firewall and it didn't change anything.
     
  18. stevendyhuang macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2008
    #18
    I'm a holy Mac user too. Have been support Apple since I have my first computer in late 70's till now. Never save in my life have bought a PC. Unfortunately, I find that iChat is too isolated like some one in an Island without the convenience to get to know the people in the world like Skype.
    To be frank, I quite like the background effect in iChat but it not as Universal as Skype.
    Either if I can use Skype account in iChat or using iChat in Skype, it would be even better! Can it work this way? If yes, please let me know cause I really wanted to use my iChat functions.
     
  19. stevendyhuang macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2008
    #19
    Do you mean that your Skype account can be use in iChat?
    Please teach me what to do... Please.... :eek:
     
  20. skemmuni macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2007
    Location:
    Faroe Islands
    #20
    I have a skype account for my PC running XP. All kinda spam users are trying to add me to there contact lists. Sucks! Said that, I think Skype is awsome for my PC. I have a skype phone wirelessly connected to the PC - and that's the best part!

    But there is a better solution, you can get a Skype phone which is directly connected to the router wirelessly. No PC no nothing :D

    I have not skype on my mac. And don't want to!
     
  21. digitalpencil macrumors 6502

    digitalpencil

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #21
    iChat with a googletalk account. Works flawlessly.
     

Share This Page