Resolved sleep while copying files

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Lion (10.7)' started by Frozzie, Dec 12, 2011.

  1. Frozzie, Dec 12, 2011
    Last edited: Dec 12, 2011

    macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2011
    #1
    Was just copying a large file from external HDD and in the middle the computer went to sleep. Logged back in and the process seemed to carry on from where it stopped.

    Will going to sleep have done do any harm to either Mac, eHDD or file itself? In Windows this would have resulted in error message and you would have to restart the whole process. Any official Apple documents on what happens?
     
  2. macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #2
    It shouldn't sleep while actively transferring a file, unless it was deliberately put to sleep. I'm not sure I'd trust a file transfer that was interrupted by sleep. I'd at least check the files to make sure they're intact.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2011
    #3
    Well I should have changed power settings to never go on sleep, but what happened has happened.

    It was on power supply as well - and I also believed Lion won't sleep whilst doing file transfers because I thought it was something that was 'active'.
     
  4. macrumors 65816

    sweetbrat

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    Location:
    Redford, MI
    #4
    Are you sure it wasn't just the display that went to sleep?
     
  5. macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #5
    It doesn't sound like it.
     
  6. Frozzie, Dec 12, 2011
    Last edited: Dec 12, 2011

    thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2011
    #6
    It was at default settings (Display sleep was set to 10 minutes, computer sleep was set at 10 minutes)

    Does display sleep require password login as well? Also how would you distinguish between display sleep and computer sleep (if display sleep require password to log back in)?

    edit: http://support.apple.com/kb/ht1776

    So I assume it was display sleep and that it couldn't have been system sleep?

    edit 2: So did experiment of copying, it carried on despite on sleep, so it was display sleep which still required password.
     

Share This Page