Sleeping Mode due to Inactivity (changing times)

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by andylatte, Oct 11, 2005.

  1. andylatte macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2005
    #1
    HI folks,

    so I bought a powerbook about 1,5 years ago. Worked fine. One day I noticed it isn´t going to sleep due to inactivity anymore (System Pref-> power options) which it had been doing before.

    I´ve been playing aroung with all the options, researching the net but couldn´t fix it. I ran the hardware test. Everything fine. So I backed up the whole system, installed Panther new and did a PMU reset. And my PB was going to sleep again. But the time needed to enter the sleeping mode didn´t quite correspond to the settings made.

    So I set down with my stop watch clocking the time the system needed to put itself to sleep.

    Power settings:
    go to sleep: after 2 minutes of inactivity
    desactivate screen: after 1 minute of inactivity
    put HD to sleep if posible: true
    screensaver: 3 min

    results:
    run time
    1st ~2:30min
    2nd ~3min
    3rd ~4min
    4th ~5min

    the weird thing is that it shuts down the screen always exactly after 1 minute. only the time inbetween shutting down the monitor and putting the PB to sleep varies.

    Configuration:
    PB 1,5GHz, no peripherals apart mouse, it does not matter if I activate or deactivate airport.

    So if anybody has experienced alike. Or has other hints. Let me know!

    Cheers
    Andreas
     
  2. bbarnhart macrumors 6502a

    bbarnhart

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2002
    Location:
    Stilwell, Kansas
    #2
    I bought my wife one of the new iBooks recently and it has a hard time going to sleep due to inactivity. I hope someone here has a good answer.
     
  3. grapes911 Moderator emeritus

    grapes911

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2003
    Location:
    Citizens Bank Park
    #3
    I don't have a good answer, but I figured I'd put this out there. I heard that if classic is running, computers running OS X may have sleep troubles. I don't know what this means, but do either of you run classic?
     
  4. bbarnhart macrumors 6502a

    bbarnhart

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2002
    Location:
    Stilwell, Kansas
    #4
    Yes, at times when the kids are playing their games. I'll check this out tonight. Thanks
     
  5. andylatte thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2005
    #5
    hi,

    I didn´t actually "use" my PB for working. Was just testing. Plain Panther. Some Itunes, maybe. So there is definately no other software (older OS stuff) involved.

    Cheers
    andreas
     

Share This Page