SlingPlayer Mobile 1.1 Appears in App Store

Discussion in 'iOS Blog Discussion' started by MacRumors, Aug 20, 2009.

  1. macrumors bot

    MacRumors

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2001
    #1
    [​IMG]

    Several readers have informed us that SlingPlayer Mobile 1.1 [App Store, $29.99] has appeared in the App Store. As we profiled last week, the update adds several new features, including support for 16x9 widescreen video and remote control integration with DISH Network.
    Unfortunately, SlingPlayer Mobile still only allows streaming over Wi-Fi, maintaining a limitation imposed on the initial version at the request of AT&T, which feared that allowing such uses on its 3G network would lead to congestion and service disruptions.

    Article Link: SlingPlayer Mobile 1.1 Appears in App Store
     
  2. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    #2
    Everything but the one thing everyone wants. Great jorb!
     
  3. macrumors 65816

    djinn

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2003
    #3
    Don't blame Dish Network/Sling, blame the network.
     
  4. macrumors 68000

    IBradMac

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2008
    Location:
    Ohio
  5. macrumors 68020

    scirica

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    #5
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 3_0_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/528.18 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/4.0 Mobile/7A400 Safari/528.16)

    So far the update looks really good. Nice to have the full screen utilized!
     
  6. macrumors 65816

    djinn

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2003
    #6
    You didn't hear? You can only send MMS only over Wi-Fi. :p
     
  7. macrumors 68030

    spaceballl

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2003
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    #7
    Hopefully this fixes my connection issues - I can connect to my slingbox no problem w/ the desktop client - nothing but problems when I try w/ my iPhone client - so annoying...
     
  8. macrumors 68030

    spaceballl

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2003
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    #8
    Grrr... updated to 1.1. My desktop client streams no problem! And my iphone client... says it can't connect. Well done, Sling!
     
  9. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 23, 2007
    #9
    Edit:

    Read about lack of gesture control in the Customer Reviews.

    Updated to 1.1 and ct2000 set me straight.
     
  10. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2006
    #10
    check your settings it now a toggle on/off for channel swipe and fav's swipe
     
  11. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 23, 2007
    #11
    Thanks.
     
  12. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2008
    Location:
    San Francisco Bay Area
    #12
    Is this latest update compatible with the original "Classic" Slingbox?

    The 1.0 version requires you to buy a new box and that ain't gonna' happen!
     
  13. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    #13
    Have you enable 5100 port for streaming outside your network?
     
  14. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2009
    #14
    Dish Network VIP722

    Does anyone know, now with dish network integration in this version, do you still need a slingbox for this app, or will it work directly with Dish Network box (VIP722) that has "sling" integration?
     
  15. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    #15
    I was having a similar issue. Would sometimes take 4-5 login in attempts before the streaming would start (would just sit at 'connecting') Based on some limited testing, so far (knock on wood) I haven't experienced that problem with 1.1.
     
  16. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    #16
    Feature Request...

    I want external video out as a feature in the next release so I can watch TV using my Myvu glasses! :)
     
  17. macrumors 6502

    Blue Fox

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2009
    #17
    I'd rather SlingBox users not cause the rest of us to have cell network issues because they want to watch TV everywhere they go. And it's not just AT&T, Verizon and other networks would have the same issues/restrictions.
     
  18. macrumors 6502

    blizaine

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2003
    #18
    I'd like to know the same thing. I've got the VIP722 also, but no Slingbox (yet).
     
  19. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2003
    Location:
    UT
    #19
    Works great for me. My Dish ViP722 is much easier to control now!
     
  20. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2009
    #20
    What a crock!!

    My brother bought Slingbox Mobile for his Blackberry Bold and it works great. His network: AT&T

    AT&T is pathetic.

    Please, please, please Apple, listen to your customer base and open up your devices to other networks. Let the people decide who they want to support with their hard earned cash and let free market competition settle this.
     
  21. macrumors 6502a

    mgamber

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Location:
    1966
    #21
    1.0 did no such thing, nor was "required" ever stated by Sling Media. The original box isn't supported but it does work. Works in 1.1, worked in 1.0.
     
  22. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2009
    #22
    Do you have a slingbox connected to your VIP772 or are you able to access the VIP directly without a sling box?
     
  23. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Location:
    Kansas City
    #23
    If AT&T as well as the rest of the US based carriers would keep up with the rest of the world with 4g or at least faster 3g vs sucking up the profits while keeping just enough bandwidth open to not piss everyone off, none of this would even be an issue. MMS, Tethering, Slingplayer, Orb, Pandora etc..

    iPhone users are stuck and AT&T knows it so they just drag ass because they know most of the people are not going to switch. Bandwidth isn't the issue, they have the spectrum to make it, they clearly have the subscriber base paying them 30 a month for data they barely use. They need to step up and join the rest of the world. They are finally looking to roll out 7.2 mb service... welcome to 2008 AT&T wohoo!
     
  24. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 23, 2007
    #24
    Agreed. I can speak for myself and many others. I've used an average of roughly 300MB of data transfer per month, for the past 2 years, and I'm still limited to what applications can be used on their network. It's incredible.

    So much for "unlimited data".
     
  25. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    #25
    Well to put it bluntly, I don't really care.

    I pay for unlimited data and I want to use it. If AT&T can't handle it, thats their problem, not mine.
     

Share This Page