Sloooow Wireless connection

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by FlaminMoe, Feb 28, 2006.

  1. FlaminMoe macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Location:
    Holland
    #1
    My ISP's advertised speed for my cable connection is 12Mbps (dream on, right? )

    If I run an online speedtest while connected via ethernet, it reports around 7.5Mbps.

    However, if I run the same test while connected via wireless, I'm barely scraping 2Mbps. To be honest, under normal conditions I'd be surprised if I'm even getting that on a regular basis - even simple browsing is 56k-esq.

    Should there really be this much of a difference? Is there anything I can do to "tweak" it?

    I have a 12" Powerbook G4 and my router is a KCORP Lifestyle Gold KLG-575
     
  2. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #2
    Are you close to the router? Is it an 802.11G network? :)
     
  3. frankblundt macrumors 65816

    frankblundt

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2005
    Location:
    South of the border
    #3
    Does your Powerbook have Airport or Airport Extreme? Is the wireless environment mixed? some wireless routers experience dramatic slowdowns with mixed b and g connections
     
  4. FlaminMoe thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Location:
    Holland
    #4
    There's normally about 15 feet and 1 wall between me and the router. However, I don't notice any measurable performace increase even when right next to it. I believe I have it set to be a "mixed" network, but I'll double check when I get home. It's certainly 802.11g capable. I can try to set it to 802.11g only to see if that makes a difference. The router has an Atheros chipset, so has a "turbo" 108Mbps setting - up to now, I've had that disabled as if I understand correctly, it's not supported by Airport.

    I *think* I have Airport Extreme on my powerbook - how can I check for sure?

    Edit: I should also mention that the stability of the wireless connection is not the best. I experience frequent drops and significant fluctuations in connection speed - could be just general internet conditions, but with the other problems I dunno so much. We're talking about difference in file downloads 700kB on ethernet compared to "struggling to consistently make 20kB" over wireless
     
  5. ScottB macrumors regular

    ScottB

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2005
    Location:
    Britain
    #5
    Do you have access to the routers settings? If this was me I would reset my router and set it up again from scratch. I don't advise you do this yet though as somebody on these forums may have had simular problems before.
     
  6. FlaminMoe thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Location:
    Holland
    #6
    Just verified that the card I have is an airport extreme.

    I've set the network to be g only, but it hasn't made much of a difference. I just ran 3 speed tests: On ethernet, I got 10Mbps, Wireless right next to the router gave me 5Mbps and wireless 15 feet away gave me just under 2Mbps.
     
  7. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #7
    I don't know much about your router but if it's interference that's the problem, then try changing broadcast channels. :)
     
  8. FlaminMoe thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Location:
    Holland
    #8
    Tried that already, I'm afraid. No difference. :(
     
  9. alexstein macrumors 6502a

    alexstein

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2004
    #9
    If you haven't tried it yet. Unplug your airport card from your book for several minutes and plug it back in. Start up your machine and see if it makes a difference.

    I'm probably just shooting in the dark here but.
    Do you have any wireless phones in the your house or near your router. That might interfere with the wireless frequencies. Sometimes my cellphone screws up my wireless reception.
     
  10. stevep macrumors 6502a

    stevep

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2004
    Location:
    UK
    #10
    Try checking that the DNS server addresses are entered in the airport setup up pane as well as in the ethernet setup pane.
     
  11. FlaminMoe thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Location:
    Holland
    #11
    Can you tell me how to do this?

    Yes, I do. I'll try moving it tonight.
     
  12. alexstein macrumors 6502a

    alexstein

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2004
    #12
     

Share This Page