Slow G4

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by BaMBaM, Oct 21, 2004.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 19, 2003
    #1
    I'm experienceing a pretty long delay when logging in, launching or switching between programs on one of my G4s. (computer is thinking) Funny thing is, my other G4 (exactly the same) is fast as ever. I'm wondering if the solution might be to relaod all the programs. Office, Illustrator 10, Photoshop 7, InDesign 2. Or is there a simple fix I can do?

    Any suggestions?

    Mac OSX 10.2.8, Dual processor, 1.0 Ghz
     
  2. Moderator emeritus

    edesignuk

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Location:
    London, England
    #2
  3. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 19, 2003
    #3
    Your link was helpful.

    Tried it. Didn't work. I'm going to Zap the P RAM next.
    Any other suggestions?
     
  4. Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #4
    Is it on all the time? If not, run the cron tasks? These are regularly scheduled maintenance tasks, and they include swapping out some log type files that can get oversized if it's never done.... You can run them whenever you want from the terminal (someone help on the command -- I couldn't find the thread here) or use a program such as MacJanitor.
     
  5. Moderator emeritus

    edesignuk

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Location:
    London, England
    #5
    The command to eneter in to the Terminal is
    Code:
    sudo periodic daily weekly monthly
     
  6. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 19, 2003
    #6
    Zapping PRAM did nothing, as far as I can tell. Any other low budget suggestions? I'm not computer savy enough to try and figure this out without risking damaging something else.
    Thanks for the help.
     
  7. 7on
    macrumors 601

    7on

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2003
    Location:
    Dress Rosa
    #7
    Delete Cache files? Pretty much anything within Cache folders can be deleted.
     
  8. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 19, 2003
    #8
    mkrishnan, No the computer is not always on. Actually, i just fired it up for the first time in 8-10 months. We're getting an intern and i needed to get it up to speed. It had this problem before, but the person using it never found a solution. Now they're gone and I'm all by my self trying to figure this out.

    I'm sorry, but I do not know what cron tasks are, and i've been unable to find out what the command is. Someone Know?
    Thanks again for all the suggestions...this is the place to come for help!
     
  9. Moderator emeritus

    edesignuk

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Location:
    London, England
    #9
    :rolleyes:
     
  10. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 19, 2003
    #10
    edesignuk,
    I'm sorry, but I don't see anything in the box under "Code:"
    Am I missing something?

    I know....NEWBIE!
     
  11. Moderator emeritus

    edesignuk

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Location:
    London, England
    #11
    That's very odd :confused: It's there, I can see it, how about anyone else?

    Anyway, this is what you need to enter:

    sudo periodic daily weekly monthly

    :)
     
  12. macrumors 65816

    Flynnstone

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2003
    Location:
    Cold beer land
    #12
    How about firing up "Activity Monitor" n Applications -> Utilities.
    It will show what is using up cpu cycles.
    Also if it is not the logged on user using the cpu you should select "All Processes" from the popup menu selector.

    HTH
     
  13. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 19, 2003
    #13
    edesignuk-

    <<That's very odd It's there, I can see it, how about anyone else?

    Anyway, this is what you need to enter:

    sudo periodic daily weekly monthly>>

    Everything in <<>> is what I can see. No command. This is frustrating.



    Flynnstone- Activity monitor is up and nothing looks like it's sucking up a bunch of %CPU or %Memory
     
  14. Moderator emeritus

    edesignuk

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Location:
    London, England
    #14
    Are you saying you can't see this bit - "sudo periodic daily weekly monthly" - in my last post (where I didn't use the
    Code:
     tags???
     
  15. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 19, 2003
    #15
    Yes, I can see "sudo periodic daily weekly monthly". If that is what I need...What do I do with it? (man, one can sure go from feeling pretty compitent to NOT in a very short period!)
    Thanks for being patient.
     
  16. Moderator emeritus

    edesignuk

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Location:
    London, England
    #16
    Open up the Terminal.app (Applications > Utilities), and paste that command in the window (without the speech marks), hit return, enter your password, and let it do its job :)
     
  17. macrumors 6502a

    JeDiBoYTJ

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2004
    Location:
    Ft. Lauderdale, FL
    #17
    What I would do as a last resort is just completely format and reinstall OSX, then reinstall all the programs you need, that should bring your computer back up to perfect speed again, unless the problem is Hardware related, but I doubt it.
     
  18. macrumors 603

    jeremy.king

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    Fuquay Varina, NC
    #18
    Perhaps MacJanitor is a much better option for you.
     
  19. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 19, 2003
    #19
    edesignuk,
    It worked! Cool, very cool. Thanks for the help!

    Also, kingjr3, I'm downloading MAC Janitor

    Again, Thanks for the help!

    Catch ya later
     
  20. macrumors 68000

    neut

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2001
    Location:
    here (for now)
    #20
    next time you leave a computer sitting around for months at a time i'll gladly take it off your hands. :)

    computers like it when you use them...


    peace.
     

Share This Page