Slow new PB 15" in Final Cut Pro HD

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Temujin, Oct 26, 2005.

  1. Temujin macrumors 6502a

    Temujin

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    Location:
    Copenhagen
    #1
    I got the new 15" PB. 1.67, 512, 5400 rpm.
    Whilst fidling around with Final Cut Pro, the PB get a bit laggy. What's the cause, the 512 ram or the harddrive?
     
  2. paulypants macrumors 6502a

    paulypants

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2003
    Location:
    Buffalo, NY
    #2
    G4 + Not enough RAM + 5400RPM Drive + FCP HD = Slow.

    HD editing should really be done on a workstation for optimal performance.
     
  3. Temujin thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Temujin

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    Location:
    Copenhagen
    #3
    Not really doing HD, just use the program for DV editing. No fancy stuff, just simple editing.

    Will the performance increase significantly by getting an extra 1 gb ram (about 100 mb left now when editing) ?
     
  4. ITASOR macrumors 601

    ITASOR

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2005
    Location:
    Oneida, NY
    #4
    Did you have anything else opened when you were using FCP? If so, try it with just that and when you do, open Activity Monitor to see your RAM. If you have a lot of RAM free then it's not a RAM problem. Tell us how much you have remaining (in green) while running FCP.
     
  5. Temujin thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Temujin

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    Location:
    Copenhagen
    #5
    Im using Handbrake right now, compressing into xvid. 9 mb in green left :eek:

    In FCP around or below 100
     
  6. ipacmm macrumors 65816

    ipacmm

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2003
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
    #6
    I would still get some more ram. Around 1GB or 1.5GB should make everything run a lot faster.
     

Share This Page