Slowboook Pro

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by taylorwilsdon, Jan 21, 2007.

  1. taylorwilsdon macrumors 68000

    taylorwilsdon

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Location:
    Bay Area
    #1
    I post regularly on macforums but nobody there was helpful so I thought I'd try a more active place.

    My Macbook Pro is slowwwww. We're talking no noticeable movement for 20+ seconds on the blue bar when the OSX startup window comes up. 15 jumps for Firefox to pop up.

    Its not like its a slow computer either. Its got the Core 2 Duo 2.16, 2GB Ram, 120gb harddrive and the like. I'm only using 40GB space and that includes the crap that comes preinstalled (iLife trial, osx system files ect). Most of that is music and documents.

    So far I've...
    Formatted the harddrive and reinstalled OSX.
    Cleared the pram (at the recommendation of everyone who has ever owned a Mac, didn't do anything)

    When theres no programs installed, its pretty zippy. However, I need all the programs that I have installed so I can't just leave them off. Its still terribly slow running just Firefox and Entourage. It speeds up once it gets started but its very slow coming off boot and for the following 5 or so minutes.

    It wasn't like this when I first had it (with all the same programs installed). Its gotten worse over time.

    Any ideas?
     
  2. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #2
    That's very strange.... Whether or not you install programs should have no impact on performance unless they're actually running.

    Is your processor performance set to automatic or highest in system preferences? Did you verify the disk (Disk Utility) after you re-installed to make sure there are no disk logical flaws?

    Also, please link the previous thread... if you keep making new threads, you have to post 1000x "I tried that already" because people just don't know what you already did.
     
  3. taylorwilsdon thread starter macrumors 68000

    taylorwilsdon

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Location:
    Bay Area
    #3
    Well, the Macforums thread is kinda useless because nobody had anything to offer and I posted less then I did here, but its here:

    http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/showthread.php?t=50172

    Actually, I hadn't checked it for a few days. Theres some helpful commentary about bootcamp and the tip about selecting the drive there. I'll try both (I can live without Bootcamp) and see what happens.

    I verified the disk and repaired permissions.
     
  4. poppe macrumors 68020

    poppe

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Location:
    Woodland Hills
    #4
    Mines the 2.33 C2D 160 MBP Pro 17" and it runs slower that that... I have to wait a minute if not more after a restart or anything. Other wise my applications will just jump and jump and jump. Plus mine is plagued by random restarts, uneven back lighting, it freaks out anytime I hook it to my TV and the list goes on but i don't want to whine... This is a work computer I don't know when I can just return it..
     
  5. taylorwilsdon thread starter macrumors 68000

    taylorwilsdon

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Location:
    Bay Area
    #5
    After doing a bunch of other stuff, its a little faster. Any more suggestions?
     
  6. aristobrat macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    #6
    Is your drive crapping out?

    I don't know how to really test for that.
     
  7. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #7
    Which programs have you installed? What you describe is not normal behavior for OS X.
    It sounds to me like you've got a rogue process of some sort eating up your CPU cycles. Got any HP junk installed?
    What do the logs have to say? What does Activity Monitor have to say about the issue?
     
  8. kainjow Moderator emeritus

    kainjow

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2000
    #8
    If you don't have one already, get a 7200 RPM drive in there... I have one in my MacBook (not a Pro) and it's nicely fast, with lots of apps installed.
     
  9. Deputy-Dawg macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2006
    #9
    Try the following and see if it helps:

    1) Boot from install disc #1 and select the correct language (English I should imaging).

    2) Ignore the install pane and instead select "Disk Utility" from under the "Utilities" tab in the menu bar.

    3) Select your HD and then "Repair Permissions"

    4) Select your HD and then "Repair Disk"

    If there is any significant amount of repair needed to the HD with "Repair Disk" you might what to have the HD checked. If there is a large amount of repair needed to the permissions you possibly have a piece of software that is not well behaved.
     
  10. pianoman macrumors 68000

    pianoman

    Joined:
    May 31, 2006
    #10
    i have a 5400 in my MBP and my computer is fast. obviously 7200 is fast but don't discount 5400.

    the OP should make sure his RAM is functioning properly. i know there are online services that do this, but i can't think of their names. best bet might be to take it to Apple and tell them you didn't pay $2500 for a computer that takes a minute to startup or load FF. they might run some tests or replace the RAM for you, if that's the cause of the problems.
     
  11. Allstermac macrumors member

    Allstermac

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2007
    #11
    If possible, take it to the apple store. Warranty issues are free & if there is a defect, they fix or replace :)
     
  12. McGarvels macrumors 6502

    McGarvels

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2006
    Location:
    Irvine, CA
    #12
    Dude, if I were you, I would just keep complaining to apple till they replace your machine. It seems like you've had nothing but problems with this MBP. Sorry it's been like that. My friends MBP does the same thing, but I think it's because she has Norton installed on her MBP (her work forced her to do it). Anyways, good luck.

    Cheers
     
  13. 4np macrumors 6502a

    4np

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2005
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #13
    And how does Win XP run when you use bootcamp?
     
  14. garfield2002 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2003
    #14
    I second a check on the RAM. A bad stick can cause a whole host of problems that many times are hard to diagnose. You can use MemTest OS X. It is a variant of the popular MemTest86. It used to be free but sadly it'll now cost you $1.50 to get the utility.
     
  15. taylorwilsdon thread starter macrumors 68000

    taylorwilsdon

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Location:
    Bay Area
    #15
    Yes, I've done that. My drive comes up clean, (as it should), this computer is less then 2 months old.

    XP runs fast. It runs like it should on a Core 2 Duo.
     
  16. Boxer macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2006
    Location:
    Overland Park Kansas
    #16
    My previous 2.16 CD was having the same issues. I made apple replace it with the 2.33 C2D. I have had no problems at all. And this thing is smoking fast!!!
     
  17. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #17
    I hate to quote myself... but..
     
  18. e12a macrumors 68000

    e12a

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2006
    #18
    The Microsoft AU Daemon can be removed from Login Items, its just that you will have to manually use the Auto Update app.

    The Database Daemon related to Entourage can also cause problems. Try removing it as well to see if it'll speed anything up. But i've read that this is a necessary program for Office 2004.

    Remember, these apps run through Rosetta. Putting it as a login item will obviously slow things down. When Office 2007 comes out it should be in universal binary and perform a lot faster.

    also, open Activity Monitor. Filter by "Kind" and see how many PowerPC apps you have running in the background.
     
  19. iW00t macrumors 68040

    iW00t

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Location:
    Defenders of Apple Guild
    #19
    Lemme guess, you using Secure Virtual Memory?

    First thing I did was turn on file vault and secure virtual memory and the thing was so slow! Turned off secure VM and suddenly it feels like a real computer :D
     
  20. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #20
    Odd.. I've never had a problem with secure vm on any Tiger box since it came out.

    It's pretty important, since passwords can be pulled from unsecured vm files.
     
  21. richard4339 macrumors 6502a

    richard4339

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Location:
    Illinois
    #21
    So that's what Microsoft AU Daemon is. It frequently opens 5 copies on my MBP using 100% CPU usage between them all. I've been wondering how exactly to kill it from starting up?
     
  22. 4np macrumors 6502a

    4np

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2005
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #22
    Go to system preferences --> Accounts --> your account -> login items --> and delete the Microsoft AU daemon from the list... :)
     
  23. richard4339 macrumors 6502a

    richard4339

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Location:
    Illinois
    #23
    Wow. I feel really stupid now. *smacks himself* I suppose I just don't have enough experience with my :apple: yet.
     
  24. iW00t macrumors 68040

    iW00t

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Location:
    Defenders of Apple Guild
    #24
    I found that Rosetta apps really see a huge boost with secure vm turned off, but hmm you got a point.

    *paranoid*
     
  25. taylorwilsdon thread starter macrumors 68000

    taylorwilsdon

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Location:
    Bay Area
    #25
    Sorry, I missed it.

    It shouldn't matter what is installed, but I've got the Microsoft suite, Photoshop CS3, Firefox, iTunes, Adium, Transmit, Parallels.

    I've kept my eye on the process monitor and everything looks legit. Loads are constantly under .5

    Not sure what HP junk is, if you mean Hewlett Packard, then no. I don't see any crashes in the logs and activity monitor looks fine.
     

Share This Page