Slugish....

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by boxerchip, Sep 5, 2004.

  1. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2004
    Location:
    VA
    #1
    My g5 seems to be fast but at the same time every now and then it acts like its not fast, for example when im playing WC3 it will load fast but take a long time to regester on the screen. some times there will just be a lot of lag like the computer does not want to go anymore. Im assuming this is due to the 512 ram. Im only running aim and one DL in the back ground but thats all i can think of.
     
  2. macrumors 68040

    applemacdude

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2001
    Location:
    Over The Rainbow
    #2
    Your running aim, not ichat or adium?
     
  3. macrumors 65816

    ChrisFromCanada

    Joined:
    May 3, 2004
    Location:
    Hamilton, Ontario (CANADA)
  4. macrumors 65816

    MacFan26

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2003
    Location:
    San Jose, California
    #4
    You could try running top in the terminal to see if there are any processes going on that you don't know about. Otherwise, I suppose it could be because of the RAM, but is 512 not enough for a G5?
     
  5. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2004
    Location:
    VA
  6. macrumors 68030

    crazzyeddie

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    Florida, USA
    #6
    What you're describing is a RAM issue that I have experienced with many G5s with only 512MB of RAM.
     

Share This Page