*SLURPPPPP*icious MacBook

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by abhishek, Jul 19, 2006.

  1. abhishek macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2006
    #1
    Wheeeeeee!!! Just got my new MacBook a couple of hours back..Been on it ever since..By far the most gorgeous laptop I have ever had!! I am so glad I finally went the Apple way. So right now my MB is cutely perched on my Bitolithic sleeve (which btw I'm not too fond of) and has been responding very well.

    The reason I thought I'd post on this was cos evtime I logged into macrumors, 90% of the posts had to do with problems they face and how hot the MB is and blah blah (and quite obvious too considering ppl would want their propblems sorted out from yu guys out here..i know i would!)

    So thats it..been great running this MB. So far no problems as yet. My wireless network got detected in like a snap!! Really cool. the only thing I havent yet been able to figure out is why the Safari windows(all windows in fact) dont maximise to the full window size as it normally should..?! any ideas guys?! do i need to manually resize them everytime i want a window in full window size?

    Also i think I need a new browser...No tabs in Safari!!:(

    Thanks guys...MB's rock at the end of the day:D ROCK ON!

    ..abhi
     
  2. xfiftyfour macrumors 68030

    xfiftyfour

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2006
    Location:
    Clemson, SC
    #2
    i like firefox
     
  3. iMacFan78 macrumors regular

    iMacFan78

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2006
    Location:
    MS
    #3
    Congrats! I'm so jealous. I can't wait to get a Mac.

    You cannot maximize windows in OS X like you can in Windows. You'll have to manually resize them. I remember hearing that Safari has tabs. Try playing around in the settings. If not, you could get Firefox or Camino.
     
  4. benthewraith macrumors 68040

    benthewraith

    Joined:
    May 27, 2006
    Location:
    Miami, FL
    #4
    Oh dear. Here are a few misconceptions.

    1)There are tabs in Safari. Go to Safari + Preferences + Tabs + Turn on Tabs. ;)
    2)There isn't a full screen feature in Mac OS. You can manually resize the screen, and everytime you launch the program, it will load the full screen. This bothered me at first, but I got over it after awhile. Besides most forums/sites are built for 1024 x 768, and your resolution is far greater than that. ;)
    3)Wireless networking in Mac OS is fun. No stupid window to pull up.
     
  5. Chundles macrumors G4

    Chundles

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2005
    #5

    Safari -> Preferences -> Tabs -> Enable Tabbed Browsing.

    Ta-daaa!!
     
  6. EAH22 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2006
    #6
    Congrats I too am new to macs I got my MacBook about 4 or 5 weeks ago and its great. I have had some issues, I have some staining but apple is taking care of it. I also have the mooing, but I have to be honest the mooing doesnt bother me and its very very quite compared to other laptops I have had, but it will eventually be fixed.

    Okay to your question about tabs click safari then click preferences turn on tabs.
     
  7. benthewraith macrumors 68040

    benthewraith

    Joined:
    May 27, 2006
    Location:
    Miami, FL
    #7
    Not to be rude or anything, but I've noticed that any browser with tabs is a RAM hog, Firefox and Safari being the worst. :(

    The least hoggish I've used so far is Camino. :)

    Safari's taken up to 178 MB's. :eek: Firefox has taken up to 230 MB before.
     
  8. dmw007 macrumors G4

    dmw007

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Location:
    Working for MI-6
    #8
    Glad to hear that you are enjoying your new MacBook benthewraith. They are in-fact great comptuers. :)


    As far as tabs, go Safari>Preferences>Tabs>Enable Tabbed Browsing. Or did you try this already and still no tabs?


    ***EDIT***
    Oops, beaten to the punch by Chundles. :eek:

    **********
     
  9. xfiftyfour macrumors 68030

    xfiftyfour

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2006
    Location:
    Clemson, SC
    #9
    no offense taken, to each their own. but for what it's worth, firefox doesn't lag on my system one bit..safari slows me down much more.
     
  10. abhishek thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2006
    #10
    wheeee...the tabs are neat...gonna try my hand at firefox too(i dunno why cos it always crashes on my work pc!!)

    thanks a ton guys for all ur inputs..as of now, i guess ill need to get used to the window full-size thingie..but its cool!! alls good!!:cool:
     
  11. nichos macrumors 6502

    nichos

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2004
    Location:
    Jacksonville, Fl
    #11
    Not to start a browser-war (bad pun?) but I agree. I love Firefox (ff) and use it all day at work on windows, but for the mac, go with camino - it uses the same rendering engine (gecko) as firefox, so pages will look the same.
    The only thing I dislike about camino is the lack of compatibility with firefox keystrokes and extensions.

    enjoy!:D
     
  12. abhishek thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2006
    #12
    errr...what do with 'em icons?!

    When i downloaded few apps(Yahoo messenger, Firefox, Windows Messenger), the apps were on my desktop. I then dragged them into the applications folder and they installed alright...Now when I look at my desktop, there are icons for Yahoo, Firefox etc...(they look like drive icons)...do I need to leave it there on my desktop for them to work properly?! cos i ahte cluttering up my desktop...i tried dragging them into the Trash..but then everytime I opened one of these apps, they appeared again on the desktop....SUGESSTIONS?!
     
  13. Chundles macrumors G4

    Chundles

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2005
    #13
    OK, here's the process:

    Download application -> you get a .dmg file and an icon that looks like a disc (Safari will often open the disc image for you, showing an open window with the contents of the disc image in it)

    Double click the disc icon and drag the application to your Application folder

    Drag the disc icon to the trash to eject it.

    Save the .dmg file somewhere as back up for the program if you need to reformat someday.
     
  14. Donz0r macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    #14

    OK, this confused me at first too
    Installing programs on a mac is different than windows.

    You probably dragged the .dmg into your applications folder...which is wrong.

    .dmg files are disk mounts. What's that? It's basically like a virtual CD with stuff on it. Double click the .dmg and it will "mount the disk image" which is just like inserting a CD!

    then that "drive icon" has the application in it. you drag the application into the applications folder, not the .dmg file or the mounted disc. Then delete the .dmg file and eject the disc image (drag it to the trash)

    If this is confusing google something like "installing programs on a mac" or like "switchers guide to mac os x"
     
  15. drummerbooker14 macrumors 6502

    drummerbooker14

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    Location:
    Georgia
    #15
    personally, i have used firefox for years. i just tried out camino and it is dang sexy. i aslo like flock as well
     
  16. abhishek thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2006
    #16
    YAY!! all working fine...thx guys

    as for the browsers...Right now im very happy with Firefox...Im sure its prone to crashes(like my Office one does)..so until them I shall stick with this...probably move on to Camino next
     
  17. abhishek thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2006
    #17
    uhmmm..hidden files??

    hey guys ..how can i search for the hidden files in my system using Spotlight?
     
  18. Chundles macrumors G4

    Chundles

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2005
    #18
    Why? They're hidden for a reason.
     
  19. abhishek thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2006
    #19
    no..there are some library files that i'd like to see but i know they are hidden (cos i got that confirmed from a website)..any ideas?
     
  20. Coheebuzz macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2005
    Location:
    Nicosia, Cyprus
    #20
    You can go to File > Find or press command-f to bring up the Finder search. From there you can add a 'Visibility' criteria from the pull down menus.

    If that doesn't work you can use a third party app like File Buddy.

    Cheers
     
  21. twoodcc macrumors P6

    twoodcc

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Location:
    Right side of wrong
    #21
    congrats on the purchase. which MacBook did you get?
     

Share This Page