Small Firefox problem

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by quigleybc, Dec 15, 2006.

  1. quigleybc macrumors 68030

    quigleybc

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Location:
    Beautiful Vancouver British Columbia, Canada
    #1
    hey

    I've been resisting asking this. But now I want to know if anyone else is having the same problem. I have Firefox 2.0 running and it's great, but after around 20 minutes of not really being used a lot, I will no longer be able to type in search fields. Like if I tried to search this thread in the search box, i'll click in the box to type but nada no text appears. Copy the URL, quit FF, restart it, paste URL, I can type fine until it happens again.

    Am I alone on this one?

    PPC
    G5 PM current Tiger
     
  2. Mitthrawnuruodo Moderator emeritus

    Mitthrawnuruodo

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Location:
    Bergen, Norway
    #2
    Not had that happen... one tip though: In FF2 preferences -> Main -> Startup you can tell FF to "Show my windows and tabs from last time" when Firefox starts (aka restore session). Then you don't need to copy and paste the URL, just restart Firefox**... :)

    ** which I, too, need to do every now and then, just not for the specific reasons you gave...
     
  3. bousozoku Moderator emeritus

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Location:
    Gone but not forgotten.
    #3
    I haven't seen it but I'm running a nightly build.

    If you're using extensions or themes that weren't part of the original installation, have you tried disabling all of them?
     
  4. clevin macrumors G3

    clevin

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    #4
    it happens here to me too,
    are u using the optimized build called bonecho? does your problem happen after u have a pop-up?
     
  5. KingYaba macrumors 68040

    KingYaba

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2005
    Location:
    Up the irons
    #5
    The issue I have had with the new Firefox is displaying pictures on google.com/img I search "macintosh" and no pictures are displayed. :confused:
     
  6. quigleybc thread starter macrumors 68030

    quigleybc

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Location:
    Beautiful Vancouver British Columbia, Canada
    #6


    interesting

    i was using the bonecho, but now I'm using just the standard 2.0 release.

    To above posters, "after pop-ups?" hmmm, maybe, not sure. I'll check.

    I do have themes, and that was the first thing I thought of, so I disabled them right away. But my issue of no text in search fields still happens. I could trash the themes completely and see if that helps.

    It just seems like if I go away from FF for a bit, and come back, I can no longer type. so strange. I really like FF, but I'm getting herded back to Safari more and more....
     
  7. quigleybc thread starter macrumors 68030

    quigleybc

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Location:
    Beautiful Vancouver British Columbia, Canada
    #7


    Great tip


    many thanks :)



    nope, just tried and got a ton of related images
     
  8. bousozoku Moderator emeritus

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Location:
    Gone but not forgotten.
    #8
    As I've told other people, there seems to be some data corruption from profiles created in Firefox versions 1.0 - 1.5 so, saving the bookmarks and deleting your profile folder would probably help.

    They're still producing nightly builds for 2.0.0.1 so I'm not sure when they expect it to be released. It might be a relief for a lot of people but obviously, they put out a release with some bugs in it.
     
  9. quigleybc thread starter macrumors 68030

    quigleybc

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Location:
    Beautiful Vancouver British Columbia, Canada
    #9


    Hmmm interesting. Where would I find my FF profile folder ?
     
  10. bousozoku Moderator emeritus

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Location:
    Gone but not forgotten.
    #10
    You'll find it under your home folder at Library/Application Support/Firefox.

    It's odd but I was having too many crashes with version 1.5.x and deleted the folder and the experience has been good ever since, enhanced greatly with version 2.
     
  11. reubs macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    #11
    I've had the same problem as the OP, and I can't troubleshoot it all. It seems so random, and I just have to restart and go from there.
     
  12. Mitthrawnuruodo Moderator emeritus

    Mitthrawnuruodo

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Location:
    Bergen, Norway
    #12
    Hmmm... just tried this tip... backed up, deleted everything, copied my search engines and bookmarks back and reinstalled all extensions (add-ons) from scratch and now Firefox feels a lot - wait for it - snappier... it really does... :)

    Thanks... :cool:
     
  13. bousozoku Moderator emeritus

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Location:
    Gone but not forgotten.
    #13
    I'm sure it does. That's part of the thing of clean up. They've changed their ways and things are better now but leftover rubbish is an issue and they probably didn't notice it way back when and don't know how to combat it now.

    I'm glad you benefited from my experience with it. :)
     

Share This Page