Smart Playlist Question - Random feature

Discussion in 'iPod' started by jallred350, Jan 10, 2006.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    #1
    I have a couple of smart playlists that are set up to randomly select songs. My question is: does iTunes re-sample automatically every so often or do I have to go in and do something to make it choose a new random sample?

    The way I have it set up, iTunes has not re-sampled yet and it has been 2 days. Do I need to do something else?

    Thanks.
     
  2. Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #2
    Smart Playlists are only updated when you sync with iTunes. Didn't always used to be that way. :(

    B
     
  3. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    #3
    Thanks

    Ahh, thanks. I guess I'm just not patient enough and would have seen this had I just waited until I synced. :rolleyes:
     
  4. macrumors 604

    Lacero

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    #4
    You can delete all the songs in the playlist and iTunes will re-populate the list with new random songs.

    Here's to the Crazy Ones [​IMG]
     
  5. jMc
    macrumors 6502

    jMc

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2001
    Location:
    London N8, Late-16th Century
    #5
    It's always worth adding another criteria to these sort of smart playlists. Something along the lines of 'Last Played is not in the last 1 day'. This will udpate the playlist by replacing each song played with a new one.

    Jx
     
  6. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    #6
    Still not re-sampling...

    I must have something wrong with this. The smart playlist with randomly selected songs has stayed the same the last 4 times I've synced. Do I need to do something else to make this playlist re-randomize every so often?
     
  7. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    #7
    Bumpitybumpbumpbump...

    Anyone?
     
  8. Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #8
    Is the "Live updating" Box checked? (Under Edit Smart Playlist).

    Or, add a new condition in the SPL for last played is not in the last day/week/month/year as previously suggested.

    B
     

Share This Page