SMB sharing between Lion and 10.6 or earlier Mac OS X

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Lion (10.7)' started by boilingpoint, May 31, 2011.

  1. boilingpoint, May 31, 2011
    Last edited: May 31, 2011

    macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2011
    #1
    Hello,

    I have tested SMB sharing between Lion and 10.6 or earlier. And I can mount SMB sharing on Lion, but cannot mount SMB sharing of Lion on 10.6 or earlier Mac OS X. (I can connect to the SMB sharing of Lion on Windows 7&XP)

    I think it may be a bug. But I mind that the SMBX(apple's own implementation of SMB) will not be compatible with SAMBA that earlier Mac OS X versions use.

    Any thought?

    Thanks guys.
     
  2. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2011
    #2
    Aren't you supposed to use AFP instead of SMB to share files between Macs?
     
  3. macrumors G4

    wrldwzrd89

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Location:
    Solon, OH
    #3
    This does sound like a bug, but not an important one - since Mac-to-Mac file sharing is normally done over AFP, not SMB.
     
  4. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2011
    #4
    OK. I know AFP is better than SMB for Mac-to-Mac environment. But think about the case that Lion works as a server for other Windows, Linux and Mac computers.
     
  5. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2005
    Location:
    New South Wales, Australia
    #5
    If SMBX doesn't work with Samba, then you won't get anywhere with trying to use it to share with Linux.

    For sharing with OS X and Windows, I'd just set up the same share as AFP and SMB.
     
  6. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2011
    #6
    You are right. I cannot mount SMB sharing of Lion on a Linux machine either. :(
     
  7. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2011
    #7
    I'm having the same problem mounting 10.7 Lion onto my Ubuntu box. From Windows 7 box the mount works because I assume that Windows has SMB2. Other Linux user out there, anything I can do to get around this problem?
     
  8. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2011
    #8
    Still in DP4

    This bug still remains in DP4. :mad:
     
  9. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2011
    #9
    Sigh, I'm on DP3. I was hoping that Apple would fix it in their next release. Do you know if there is a bug for it or does Apple intend to fix in in the GA version of Lion?

    Thanks!
     
  10. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2011
    #10
    No, I am not sure. But I think it should be fixed in the final release.

    I don't want to register Apple developer program with $99 for just bug reports. I hope that Apple engineers might be monitoring this forum to gather problematic issues.
     
  11. macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
    #11
    You can try searching for an open report.
    http://openradar.appspot.com/page/1
     
  12. macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
    #12
    Let's not get into the fact that if you're not a developer you should not have Lion. Having said that, I don't think they monitor public forums that often. They rely on true developers to file the bug reports. Too much information is needed and they can't get accurate information on bugs from a forum post.
     
  13. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2011
    #13
    I filed a bug with Apple, bug #9564523. Unfortunately to view the bug report you have to be member. Hopefully someone will get around to it. I also added the link to this website to let them know that other people are also encountering the same thing. Most of all this is a big regression.
     
  14. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2011
    #14
    RogerPham, thank you, and would you please file one more bug?:D Many thanks in advance.
     
  15. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2011
    #15
    I just filed the bug you requested. No problem!
     
  16. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2011
    #16
    Thanks, RogerPham. Two Thumbs UP! d:Db
     
  17. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2011
    #17
    Nothing changed in GM. Debug messages are same as those of DP4. :(
     
  18. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2011
    #18
    Curious to know if any progress has been made to the bug filed or if anyone has found a work around. I have read other forums where devices such has NAS, wdltv and others are affected by this. Definitely a showstopper for me to not upgrade.

    SMB client not supported - Unicode, NT Errors, Long Names and Extended Security are required :(
     
  19. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2011
    #19
    Lion is going to be released tomorrow. At this point I believe Apple has abandoned the support for SMB :mad:
     
  20. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2011
    #20
    Seriously...

    [(--)]ZZzzz...
    Apple is certainly asleep the wheel on this!

    No moderation, commentary, apology, rectification or acknowledgement across any avenue... and we're approaching four weeks since commercial launch. Their silence infers a complete and reckless abandon of concern for the interests of their customer community. ಠ_ಠ
     
  21. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2011
    #21
  22. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2011
    #22
    As you know, nothing is changed in 10.7.1. :mad:

    ----------

    What we are saying is not about AFP but SMB.
     
  23. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2011
    #23

Share This Page