Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

boston04and07

macrumors 68000
Original poster
May 13, 2008
Hey guys - does anyone know if there are any HomeKit enabled smoke detectors on the market besides this one from OneLink? Environmental detectors that will send an alert when they detect smoke would also work, as I'm purely looking for a way to get an alert when smoke is detected when I'm away from home - I have very good non-smart detectors for when I am home.

The OneLink's poor reviews on Amazon make me nervous about purchasing that option. I also noticed the other day that on Apple Store demo iOS devices, the Home app lists smoke detectors under the Favorites, so I'm hoping that there might be other options that I haven't found yet in my search. If you guys know if anything I'd love to know! Also - apologies if this is redundant. I'm new to the home automation forum and didn't find much in my searches...

Reactions: jgelin

jgelin

macrumors 6502a
Jul 30, 2015
St Petersburg, FL
Hey guys - does anyone know if there are any HomeKit enabled smoke detectors on the market besides this one from OneLink? Environmental detectors that will send an alert when they detect smoke would also work, as I'm purely looking for a way to get an alert when smoke is detected when I'm away from home - I have very good non-smart detectors for when I am home.

The OneLink's poor reviews on Amazon make me nervous about purchasing that option. I also noticed the other day that on Apple Store demo iOS devices, the Home app lists smoke detectors under the Favorites, so I'm hoping that there might be other options that I haven't found yet in my search. If you guys know if anything I'd love to know! Also - apologies if this is redundant. I'm new to the home automation forum and didn't find much in my searches...