Snow Leopard & CS3

Discussion in 'Design and Graphics' started by shady825, Aug 11, 2009.

  1. macrumors 68000

    shady825

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2008
    Location:
    Area 51
    #1
    Does anyone here know if CS3 was working properly or at all on Snow Leopard? (developer seeds obviously)

    Thanks..
     
  2. macrumors 601

    Krafty

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2007
    Location:
    La La Land
  3. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2009
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    #3
    Out of curiosity, why wouldn't it?
     
  4. thread starter macrumors 68000

    shady825

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2008
    Location:
    Area 51
    #4
  5. macrumors 601

    Krafty

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2007
    Location:
    La La Land
    #5
    CS4, seeing as Adobe doesn't really care about any problems on the Mac with their products (i.e. Flash videos)
     
  6. macrumors 6502a

    opeter

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Location:
    Slovenia (EU)
    #6
    Why doesn't CS3 work on Snow Leopard? I don't understand. It is Universal Binary after all, or not?
     
  7. thread starter macrumors 68000

    shady825

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2008
    Location:
    Area 51
    #7
    When a new OS comes out, sometimes, it isn't fully compatible with 3rd party apps (right away). Therfor the developer, Adobe in this case, will release a "patch" to support the new OS.
    BUT with CS4 out I'm sure Adobe wants people to go that direction.

    I was hoping SL wasn't a big enuff change to brick any apps but I guess we will just have to wait and see...
     
  8. macrumors 6502a

    opeter

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Location:
    Slovenia (EU)
    #8
    I am not going to update my Leopard to Snow Leopard anyway.
     
  9. macrumors 601

    Krafty

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2007
    Location:
    La La Land
    #9
    CS3 probably isn't coded properly for SL, but seeing as CS4 works, I doubt Adobe would really care and tell you to just upgrade to that instead.

    Plus SL isn't even released yet so its not really surprising. But my work computer will remain on Leopard for the time being although I'm slowly trying to migrate to CS4.
     
  10. macrumors 6502a

    Rt&Dzine

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2008
    Location:
    12 across
    #10
    That'll keep me from upgrading to Snow Leopard for awhile.
     
  11. macrumors 68040

    Designer Dale

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Location:
    Folding space
    #11
    So it looks like Adobe will use SL to muscle cash from those of us using CS3. Rats. I have better things to do with $XXX and Leopard runs fine for me. I will hang on 10.5 for a while and not complain.

    Dale
     
  12. jwt
    macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    #12
    That would be a major bummer if Adobe didn't patch CS3. I bought it under the student discount, as that was all I could afford and justify. Now that I'm married, I'll have a difficult time justifying to my wife that I need to spend $400 to buy the package all over again so I can run a $30 piece of software. I'll be running Leopard for a long long long time.
     
  13. macrumors 601

    Compile 'em all

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2005
    #13
    Why are people saying CS3 doesn't work on SL? Work fine here (been running it on SL for 1 week now).
     
  14. macrumors 65816

    bbotte

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    Location:
    USA
    #14
    I don't see adobe photoshop elements on the list, anyone know? I have version 6. I hope it works.
     
  15. macrumors 601

    Krafty

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2007
    Location:
    La La Land
    #15
    Maybe cause it isn't working for some of us? :confused:

    Or maybe cause I like putting peanut butter on my [​IMG] for dogs to lick it off.
    I wouldn't be surprised since no matter how much we tell them Flash is anally raping our Macs they wont do jack about it.
     
  16. macrumors 65816

    doug in albq

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    #16
    CS3 works fine in SL, including FTP'ing with Dreamweaver

    this is just more FUD.

    if CS3 does not work for YOU, then your computer has its own individual problems.
     
  17. macrumors 68040

    IgnatiusTheKing

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    Location:
    das Fort
    #17
    I came across this list of compatible/incompatible applications the other day. The last time I looked at it CS3 was listed as not working. Now it says that it is working but there are "Minor bugs in Photoshop and/or Dreamweaver."

    http://snowleopard.wikidot.com/
     
  18. macrumors 6502a

    Voidness

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2005
    Location:
    Null
    #18
    Adobe just released an official statement regarding Snow Leopard, and it doesn't sound good for CS3 users:
    I can understand not supporting CS2 and older versions, since they're PowerPC applications and Snow Leopard isn't available for PowerPC Macs. But CS3? Come on Adobe :mad:
     
  19. macrumors 601

    Krafty

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2007
    Location:
    La La Land
    #19
    Heh, what a shock. Adobe might as well have included a photo of a middle finger in that statement as well.
     
  20. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    #20
    So they said they didn't test it and it wasn't designed for Snow Leopard. That doesn't mean it won't work just means what it says they didn't test for it. So do I still have a chance that all my CS3 stuff will work on Snow Leopard just won't get anymore updates?
     
  21. macrumors 601

    Krafty

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2007
    Location:
    La La Land
    #21
    Read the bold print, they clearly said they werent going to update it to support SL.
     
  22. macrumors 601

    Krafty

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2007
    Location:
    La La Land
    #22
    Strike that, I tested it on the latest build (cause I think the last time was on 421) and the program freezing problem is gone. So, thats a sigh of relief.
     
  23. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    #23
    so it does work now?
     
  24. macrumors 601

    Krafty

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2007
    Location:
    La La Land
    #24
    So far in 10A432 it seems to. I havent tested the other programs but I don't have the entire suite.
     
  25. macrumors 68040

    IgnatiusTheKing

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    Location:
    das Fort
    #25
    I posted this on the other thread, as well, but since that one has turned into a Windows/Mac OS pissing match, I thought I'd post it here as well. Apparently Photoshop CS3 has been tested on Snow Leopard and works. They're just not "officially" saying so.

    http://blogs.adobe.com/jnack/2009/08/pscs3_on_snowleopard.html
     

Share This Page