Snow Leopard: Use video files as screensavers

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by thiagos, Apr 24, 2010.

  1. macrumors 6502

    thiagos

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2007
    Location:
    NYC (Manhattan)
    #1
    So when I had Leopard 10.5, I used to use Save Hollywood as my screensaver application. What that does is transform any video file that you have in a screensaver. After Snow Leopard came out, Save Hollywood no longer works... I don't know what else to do, that was a must have for me and it is starting to frustrate me.
    Is there any other software that would allow me to use a video file as a screensaver that would work on Snow Leopard. Has Apple fixed this issue on 10.6.3?
     
  2. macrumors 68030

    fhall1

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Location:
    NY State of mind
  3. thread starter macrumors 6502

    thiagos

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2007
    Location:
    NYC (Manhattan)
    #3
    Thanks for the link. Although that is really cool, it is not really what I am looking for. I don't want to add my videos as a desktop wallpaper, I just want to use my video as a screensaver.
     
  4. macrumors 68030

    fhall1

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Location:
    NY State of mind
    #4
    I put "os x use video as screensaver" (no quotes) in Google and came up with a bunch of candidates...since I don't use any of them, I can't comment on how good or bad they are.
     
  5. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    #5
    was just searching for the same software and could not find any for Snow Leopard..

    if anyone finds anything similar please post here, would really appreciate it!
     
  6. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2010
    #6
    Me too!

    Trying to do the same thing with Snow Leopard and no such luck. Keep looking, please anyone, if they find it let us know! THANKS!
     
  7. macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #7
    Search for the screensaver called "SaveHollywood" It works pretty well.
     
  8. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    #8
  9. macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #9
    As per my testing on 10.6.5, it works fine, when ScreenSaverEngine is set to run in 32-bit mode.
     
  10. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    #10
    really? I knew I should have tested it myself! :)

    will check and see how it goes, thanks for letting us know!
     
  11. macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #11
    But, it crashes if left going for about four hours. And all you get is a black screen.
     
  12. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    #12
    doesn't work for me at all..

    it says "You cannot use the SaveHollywood screen saver on this computer" and "Contact the developer of this screen saver for a newer version" - see the attached screenshot

    I am using OS X 10.6.6 with 64 bit kernel and SaveHollywood 1.9.1

    did you have any problems like that?
     

    Attached Files:

  13. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    #13
    aha forgot about that, let me check how to do that
     
  14. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    #14
    OK, almost managed to run it, had to reopen System Preferences in 32 bit mode as described here:

    http://hints.macworld.com/article.php?story=20090831003645829

    and then make ScreenSaverEngine run in 32 bit mode as well as per slippyd advise here:

    http://hints.macworld.com/article.php?story=20100209053016662

    Now it works by clicking Test under screensaver preferences windows.

    But - it does not work after idle time, and also does not work when I try to trigger it using Hot Corner. Something is still missing here..
     
  15. macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #15
    You have to set the Screensaverengin.app to run in 32-bit mode. It's in the Screensaverengine.framework.
     
  16. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    #16
    Thanks, but as I mentioned above I followed this advise:

    Code:
    $ cd /System/Library/Frameworks/ScreenSaver.framework/Versions/A/Resources/ScreenSaverEngine.app/Contents/MacOS/
    $ mv ScreenSaverEngine ScreenSaverEngine-executable
    $ cat > ScreenSaverEngine
    #!/bin/sh
    arch -i386 /System/Library/Frameworks/ScreenSaver.framework/Versions/A/Resources/ScreenSaverEngine.app/Contents/MacOS/ScreenSaverEngine-executable
    $ chmod 755 ScreenSaverEngine
    my understanding that the above should trigger ScreenSaverEngine to run in 32-bit mode
     
  17. macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
  18. macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #18
    very interesting! i have been wondering this for many years :)

    i will give it a try! thanks
     
  19. stretchphoto, Apr 3, 2011
    Last edited: Apr 3, 2011

    macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2011
    Location:
    Miami
    #19
    Deadline for Master's Thesis - HELP?

    Hi. I'm having the exact same problem as REALAA. I put in the code and I still get the floating "Update the screensaver software" message.

    I'm desperate here, and must complete this project ASAP. All was good until I switched Mac Minis from PPC to Intel. And I have four of them on this project.

    If anyone can help, I'll be happy to pay you for your time.

    Thanks so very much.

    ps - The Minis are running 10.6.3
     
  20. macrumors newbie

    tails-4

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2009
    #20
    Hey, sorry to resurrect a dead thread.
    But i've tried all of these solutions and it still isnt working for me.....
    It seems like its working, but when the screensaver launches, it will flash up for about half a second and then quit again, going to the password screen (or back to pre-screensaver)

    anyone have any idea whats going on??
    thanks for any help :)
     
  21. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2011
    Location:
    Miami
    #21
    Can't be done on an intel

    I needed this same functionality for my master's thesis project, and spend days and days looking for a solution.

    Unfortunately, it can't be done.
     

Share This Page