Snowboard help...

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by freeny, Jan 18, 2006.

1. freeny macrumors 68020

freeny

I have the opportunity to recieve a free snowboard from work. I have never snowboarded before but am aching to learn and this would be a good start. My question is, how do I find out what size snowboard is right for me? What are the different sizes? etc. I know absolutely nothing about the equipment so dont be afraid to be elementary.

Thanks

my measurements;
    5'10"
    aprox 170lbs
    shoe size- mens 10

2. Dandaman macrumors 6502

I'm still a bit new to snowboarding also, but i'll try to help with what I know. (Anyone correct me where ever I am wrong).

I believe the length really depends on whether you want more control or speed. The shorter the board, the more control you will have. The longer, the faster it can go. The times I have snowboarded, I have rented and they always give me a board that reaches around my eye level. I forget what the length was, but my body dimensions are almost spot on with you. That's all i know for now. I don't know, I could be completely wrong. Hopefully not.

daniel

3. XNine macrumors 68040

XNine

Why are you wearing that stupid man suit?
    Generally, if I remember right, you want something that at least reaches from your chin to the ground in length. Going up to the eyes in length would take away a little bit from the control factor.

4. Dandaman macrumors 6502

On second thought, I think you're right. When I would rent, they would be right around my chin, not my eyes.

Also, good thing you're getting a new board. Renting sucks. The edges are messed up. The last time I went, I caught an edge, hit my head on the "snow" (if anyone's boarded at Mt. High in socal, knows that it's ice rather than snow) and blacked out for a few seconds. I need to buy a board.

daniel

5. macartistkel macrumors 6502a

macartistkel

Hey, this little chart might help out!

http://www.snowboardlengthcalculator.com/