So are unlimited plans still getting FaceTime over cellular?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by jer9542, Nov 27, 2012.

  1. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    #1
    I became pretty excited when I saw ATT was supposedly activating FaceTime for users with unlimited data (I wanna say ppl from NY had it when the news was posted). I'm in Chicago, and have yet to be allowed to turn it on through cellular. I used it alot when I was jailbroken, but obviously will have to wait otherwise for 5 to be JB. Is this still happening though?
     
  2. macrumors G3

    QuarterSwede

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    Location:
    Colorado Springs, CO
    #2
    I could get it to turn on but it would never actually put a call through for me. Now it won't even turn on. I think it was just a bug honestly.
     
  3. macrumors Nehalem

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #3
    Damn it, I was hoping for better news:D
     
  4. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2007
    Location:
    Southern California
    #4
    as i stated in the other thread, what most likely happened when ATT changed their policy someone clicked a wrong box or setting on their server side. By the time they noticed it it had begun to replicate to other servers from the main server. When they found the error they corrected it and the new correct setting began to replicate to the other servers. This explains why it worked for some in waves but also began to fail in waves.
     
  5. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011
    #5
    I have spoken to two different reps from ATT and they said that unlimited users will be able to facetime over cellular as well, but it will take 8-10 weeks to do the transition.

    They said it was even posted on their website....
     
  6. macrumors 65816

    palmerc2

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2008
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #6
    I was just thinking the same thing about 10 minutes ago!

    Anyway, when I read about it on here a few weeks ago I checked FaceTime in settings and sure enough using FaceTime over cellular was activated. Just checked it right now and it's turned off again, I tried turning it on and it said I can't - needs to have an eligible plan or be connected to wifi.
     
  7. macrumors 68040

    Jordan921

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Location:
    Bay Area
    #7
    I had it working for me over a week ago but the toggle went back to off again.
     
  8. macrumors Nehalem

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #8
    I wish that was correct but Im not holding my breath.
    AT&T reps tell crazy stories.
    What is the website that was posted did he say?
     
  9. peeaanuut, Nov 29, 2012
    Last edited: Nov 29, 2012

    macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2007
    Location:
    Southern California
    #9
  10. macrumors 68040

    Dwalls90

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    #10
    Steve Jobs will come back to life before AT&T ever does anything to benefit the consumer.
     
  11. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2012
    #11
    no luck yet but i was told the 8-10 weeks time frame as well
     
  12. macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Location:
    New Sanfrakota
    #12
    Never got it to turn on, unlike all the New Yorkers.

    Speaking of which, are you NYers still getting FT on unlimited?
     
  13. macrumors Nehalem

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #13
  14. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2007
    Location:
    Southern California
    #14
    i should register that. Just for some fun.
     
  15. macrumors Nehalem

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #15
    We can point people to that link when they post about hearing wild things from AT&T customer support:D
     
  16. macrumors 65816

    SAD*FACED*CLOWN

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    #16
    I have an unlimited data plan with AT&T and I can still use FaceTime over cellular which was just activated about a week ago for me. In my FaceTime settings the toggle is still switched to "on" and I never turned it on in the first place
     
  17. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2007
    Location:
    Southern California
    #17
    as a bonus a bunch of people landed at my website. lol
     

Share This Page