So, does 7950 work out of the box?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by MaxHarryson, Jan 19, 2013.

  1. MaxHarryson, Jan 19, 2013
    Last edited: Jan 19, 2013

    macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2011
    #1
    Hey! Im running a Mac Pro 2008, 8x2,8, 4 gigs ram and 8800gt for OSX and 6870 for windows.

    I realized that I am in need of a PC for gaming. However i will keep the MP for music production in Logic.

    The card I want for my gaming pc is 7950, and a quick google search mentioned something about it working in 10.8.3. I saw alot of threads talking about it but i couldnt understand most of it.

    Does it work? In that case i will buy the card now and the rest of the PC later.
    If it doesnt, is there alot of work making it work or is it something the somewhat avarage joe could pull off?

    Edit:
    Or does it only work if i boot it up in windows?
     
  2. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2007
    #2
    I'm running a 2010 5,1 Mac Pro and I purchased an XFX 7950 and popped it in and besides not having a boot screen in works perfectly. I see a very nice increase in performance in X-Plane which is really the only app that I use that would benefit from a better GPU. Hope that helps...
     
  3. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2011
    #3
    It sure does !

    10.8.3 is a must if i want it to work, tough ?
     
  4. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2007
    #4
    Yes, I believe 10.8.3 is required.

    Yes, I believe 10.8.3 is required.
     
  5. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Location:
    New England
    #5
    So are you saying it does not work with the latest official version of OSX (10.8.2)? As far as I know, 10.8.3 has not been released.
     
  6. macrumors 6502a

    handheldgames

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    #6
  7. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2007
    #7
    I don't know. I haven't tried it with 10.8.2.
     
  8. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2011
    #8
    Since 10.8.3 is in beta, maybe the best thing to do is wait for it to be officially released and see if the card still work before buying ?
     
  9. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2007
    #9
    You're right. That's probably a good idea. I just couldn't wait... :D
     
  10. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2011
    #10
    Gonna give this thread one last bump and ask: Any brands to stay away from when buying a 7950 ?
     
  11. macrumors 6502a

    handheldgames

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    #11
    I'd stick with a reference board design: 1 DL-DVI, 2-MDP, 1 HDMI to be safe. They are usually stamped with the AMD logo. Asus is known to design their own board so may be worth avoiding. I'd also avoid single fan solutions.

    XFX has a lifetime warranty, Gigabyte has a quiet 3 Fan solution. YMMV
     
  12. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Location:
    Ulladulla, NSW Australia
    #12
    Does the 7970 work just as easily? Or does it require additional power supply?

    Does the 7950 literally just 'slot into' a 2009 Mac Pro?
     
  13. macrumors 68030

    Yebubbleman

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #13
    10.8.3 is supposedly going to bring a ton of AMD Radeon HD 7xxx drivers along with it. This is likely why a 10.8.3 beta at minimum is required.
     
  14. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    #14
    Look at card page for power min, some 7970 requires 2 8 pin vs only 2 6 pin in the MP. User in these forums used an 7970 that had 1 8 pin and 1 6 pin and is reporting no issues, but forum experts advise against it fearing damaging the MP motherboard.
     
  15. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2012
    #15
    I just tried putting a 6970 (also 1-6 pin and 1-8 pin) into a 2008 MP and the card whined loud N long (didn't even know it had a speaker) and would not show itself to the OS.
    The other 2 pins are just ground so I'm whipping up a cable that will provide the extra 2 pins out to a molex (CD/HD) power connector for the extra ground.
    Testing on a normal PC shows the hybrid cable works, no whine and the card powers up fine, will be testing on the MP tonight.
     
  16. macrumors 6502a

    handheldgames

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
  17. macrumors 65816

    InuNacho

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2008
    Location:
    In that one place
    #17
    Ugh, might finally have to take the plunge and get Mountain Lion.
     
  18. macrumors 6502a

    handheldgames

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    #18
    The drivers are looking fully baked.
     

    Attached Files:

Share This Page