So has anybody successfully updated their phone?

Discussion in 'iOS 5 and earlier' started by BuckDot, Oct 12, 2011.

  1. macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2011
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #1
    Looks like everyone is getting the error (lots on Twitter too)

    If you upgraded successfully, did you have the newest iTunes version and most current iOS4 version?
     
  2. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2011
    #2
    Mine updated fine. Latest everything before doing the upgrade.
     
  3. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    #3
    Mine failed. Currently running Snow Leopard...
     
  4. macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2010
    Location:
    On and Island that is Long.
    #4

    Good thing I didn't upgrade! The only wire I have won't work, so I didn't upgrade last night.

    I'm a dope, because I would have done it and I'm one of the people that tells everyone to wait to d/l new software until the bugs are worked out, LOL.
     
  5. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2011
    #5
    Upgraded just fine with iTunes 10.5.

    Edit: and latest iOS4 software.
     
  6. macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2010
    Location:
    On and Island that is Long.
    #6

    I wonder if those that got errors didn't upgrade to iTunes 10.5? You should get a pop up when you start iTunes that there's a new version available. I only did it because I hadn't used iTunes in a while and wanted to see if there was an update. However I think I would have anyway because I've learned from past experience that sometimes not updating can cause problems.
     
  7. macrumors 68000

    iphone1105

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    #7
    My update on my iP4 was fine, it's my iPad killing me. But I suppose they're hammered at the moment.
     
  8. macrumors 6502a

    iggypod

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    #8
    My iphone4 upgraded like a champ. iPad failed and still failing. 4 other iDevices to go.
     
  9. macrumors 6502a

    AlphaVictor87

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2011
    Location:
    Saint Louis, MO
    #9
    Updated my 3gs just fine. I did have the error where my "Other" data in my phone was about 5GB but that went down when it was done syncing.

    Yes i did have 10.5 itunes and 4.3.5 iOS before i started
     
  10. macrumors 68030

    skubish

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2005
    Location:
    Ann Arbor, Michigan
    #10
    mine failed
    running iTunes 10.5 and Leopard.
    I did not have the latest iOS 4.3 on my phone.
     
  11. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2007
    Location:
    left coast, US
    #11
    iPhone update worked (but took maybe 2.5 hours to update and restore everything), but the iPad failed. After 15-20+ attempts, the upgrade finally worked, and my iPad is currently restoring apps (which will be followed by restoring music & videos -- this will probably take another 3+ hours, but at least the difficult firmware upgrade is done).

    Apple's servers are currently horribly overloaded, and the upgrade process requires that they be contacted (in addition to downloading the upgrade). If iTunes has trouble talking to Apple's servers, the upgrade is going to fail. There's nothing that you can really do about this, except wait and retry.
     
  12. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 13, 2011
    #12
    Finally worked

    I was getting a restore error or internal error, or something like that. I downloaded the new Mac update 10.7.2 and installed it. Tried to install the ios5 update again and it failed again with the same internal error message. Then I just went to back to the basics, i turned off my iPad, turned it back on, made sure it was unlocked (in the home screen) and then clicked update. It backed up pretty quickly and then it did its thing. try doing all of those steps. I am not sure which one did the trick.
     
  13. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    #13
    Surprisedly enough, I just updated 2 iphones without any issues.
     
  14. macrumors regular

    sweigner

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2008
    Location:
    North Wales
    #14
    Updated my iPhone, iPad and iTouch. also moved my Mobile Me account to the cloud. No problems at all.
     
  15. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    #15
    Guys, does all your App's settings/configuration/saved data remain after you upgrade to iOS 5?
     
  16. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2007
    Location:
    left coast, US
    #16
  17. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    #17
    not me i have been trying since 2...i knw alot of ppl r getting error messages ... am i just getting "this device isn't eligible for requested build"
     
  18. macrumors 6502a

    forza69

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2010
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #18
    Anyone having time out issues? There's no error or anything, just says timed out. Anyone know of possible causes?
     
  19. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2007
    Location:
    left coast, US
    #19
    It's probably the usual Apple server timeout.
     
  20. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2011
    #20
    After a couple tries, I ended up restoring and than updating to os5 and that seemed to do the trick.
     
  21. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2011
    #21
    1 try and went great!!! No problems!! :cool:
     
  22. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2008
    Location:
    Gosport, Hants.
    #22
    My iPhone 4 upgraded without any issues, from iOS 4.3.5. Will do the iPad 2 in the morning.
     
  23. macrumors 6502

    esco

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2005
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #23
    Updated my iPhone 4 during work quickly with no problems. Trying to update my iPad 2 now and it's extremely slow. I've also tried to move my MobileMe account to iCloud all day but it keeps giving me an error message.

    No worries... I can wait.
     
  24. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2010
    #24
    iPhone 4 and 3rd gen iPod touch updated no problems from jailbroken what I think was 4.3.3.
     
  25. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    #25
    Didn't want to make a new thread, but what is the default iOS 5 layout ( on home screen) supposed to look like?
     

Share This Page